home wanted for stray award

Merrilee passed the Prolific Blogger Award my way, and now I am sitting here musing on whether I actually count as prolific, and if I do, whether that’s a good thing, because surely I should be focusing on the “important” stuff instead like my novel and online serial?

I doubt I am the only writer who — perhaps when struggling with a particularly snarling scene — turns to blogging in an effort to unblock the words and feel more productive. There is a type of guilty pleasure in crafting a blog post, in structuring words that have nothing to do with the current project of yours that you are utterly sick of.

Not that blogging is an easy task. On the contrary; all lulled-in by the pretty buttons and console, I often end up spending hours researching the most bizarre topics (amphisbaenas, anyone?), or even several frantic days in front of the computer, such as during my no doubt fever-induced liveblogging bouts.

In any case, Merrilee was sweet enough to tag me for the award, and according to the rules I’ve got to pass it on to seven deserving souls. (Although I must say I wish I could pass the award back, because if anyone deserves it multiple times, it’s Merrilee.)

It took a lot of head-scratching and a little creativity, but these are seven people who I’d like to tag for this award, because I keep returning to their sites time and time again:

  • Dan Holloway for his insightful publishing ponderings and his catching enthusiasm for books and reading and free fiction;

  • Eli James for keeping his finger on the pulse of digital fiction shenanigans;

  • MCM because he’s crazy and he lets me skip the queue;

  • Gabriel Gadfly for being one of the few poetry blogs I regularly return to;

  • Skyla Dawn Cameron, because everyone needs a good dose of snark now and then, and Skyla excels at the snark;

  • Jessica for writing in-depth, regular, honest reviews, and for reading more books than I ever could;

  • and last but not least Becky, because we need more webfiction-focused blogs out there.

There you have it: seven blogs I like to read.

If your name is above, take this award off of my hands — and don’t forget to read the rules!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Ze Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to home wanted for stray award

  1. Pingback: I wouldn’t say I’m prolific « Becky's Writing Blog

  2. Thank you Anna for passing this award on to me, made me very happy. Also lots of fun picking seven people for myself.

Leave a Reply

