roman catholicism and god and stuff

Everyone has a different answer on who God is and how he acts. It’s like a rat race, everyone trying to convince you that their way is the right way. Surely if there was a God, any path to him would be the right way.

Technically, I am a Roman Catholic, having been baptised and done first communion and all that stuff. My whole family is RC, besides my dad who pretends he is Hindu but really doesn’t seem to relate to any religion at all.

I seem to have become like a lot of Italians however (probably due to me living there for over 13 years). I’m not an ardent believer, I go to church on Easter Sunday and for Midnight Mass and that’s about it.

It’s just, I have a thing against the church itself as an institution. It seems biased.

Why is it that women can only be nuns, whilst men can be priests, cardinals, and even popes? That’s not fair. God created both of us and by now it should be accepted that women and men are equal. Yet women are still regarded as evil temptresses… after all, didn’t Christ die to purge us from our sins? For goodness’ sake give women a break!

And then the whole confession thing. I hate going to confession. It seems like a way to pay for heaven. You know, go to the priest, act sorry, get a bill of a couple Hail Marys and Our Fathers, and there you go, you’re clean as a newborn baby. I am sure many people go to confession without feeling the least bit of regret for their actions.

I don’t want to talk to the priest. He’s a stranger. I don’t want to tell him my business. If I do something wrong, I feel regret within myself and I attempt to resolve the situation. I think that’s a lot more effective than saying a couple prayers.

I just feel that if there is a god, he or she would be within us. We wouldn’t need some institution like the Church. You can find forgiveness for your actions within yourself. I am at peace with myself and don’t feel the need to go to Church and pray away damnation. It seems a futile excercise.

That’s another thing I disagree with–the idea of hell. Real hell is your life gone wrong. I don’t like the fact that priests and the church keep threatening us to keep us on their side.

Also, God said to mankind “be fruitful and multiply.” (I don’t think he considered the possibility of overpopulation). He wanted us to live our lives. Why then should holy men be celibate? If we are all his children, all equally loved, surely priests would also be allowed to live normal lives, have families. After all they counsel vast numbers of people on how to deal with relationship and family problems–what would they know of these matters, anyway?

As a matter of fact, women appear to be able to control their libidos much more than men. Shouldn’t that make them better candidates for the positions of power? (A female pope; how shocked people would be. For me the position appears entirely too political.)

Continuing on the same vein, why should we need a priest (during confession) to be our messenger, so-to-speak, to God? Surely we should all be able to commune to God individually. If he loves us all equally, why are priests treated as special? To be honest, if God is our teacher and we are his children, religious men appear to be the nerds of the class trying to suck up to the teacher.

I understand that many people find comfort in going to the Church, in speaking to priests, and if that makes them happy then they should do it. I understand some priests want to be celibate (however unnatural that seems to me), want to dedicate their lives to God. It’s just for me, something doesn’t seem quite right.

Then again, sometimes I think too much.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

