google is your friend

You don’t give yourself enough credit. […] You’re just not accustomed to allowing people to see the real you and allowing them to like you. Rejection is so much easier to handle when there never was a chance of acceptance, isn’t it?” [from The Bracelet by AkashaTheKitty]

Spurred by my own fit of blues (a leftover from the infamous Blue Monday, I wonder?), and by the above quote, I impulsively searched ‘I feel lonely’ in google. The results were interesting, but by far my favorite quote is:

When so many are lonely as seem to be lonely, it would be inexcusably selfish to be lonely alone.” [from here] But, of course, it’s a hell of a lot safer to be lonely alone than risk being alone with someone else. I guess the only thing to do is to remember that the feeling is temporary, fleeting, and that it will go away at some point.

I can’t remember where I found the following (it was from some forum):

It creates a whole new set of life-based questions, when each of us, accordingly and supposedly, has a worth, and yet for one reason or another, so many of us are alone. If each of us has a value, then how can it be that so many of us are wasted, unused, discarded, or unwanted.

What I find interesting is how many people (myself included) have typed their feelings into google, rather than an actual search request (e.g. dealing with loneliness). It seems like we’re driven to express that emotion (and maybe all negative emotions?) in writing, kind of like when you doodle during lectures about how bored you are.

To be perfectly honest, googling all of this made me feel a lot better. It seems I haven’t lost as much hope as others seem to have done.

I’ll tell you my secret: I’ve found that if nothing else works, a Moment du Chocolat Gourmet Hot Chocolate from Tesco’s does the trick.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

