An embarrassing question for you

One of my past times is to type sentences or questions into Google and see what websites come up. This time I wrote: “Why do I never meet anyone interesting?”

The top of the list was an entry from the blog ageless bonding, which I had never even heard of before. It’s very well-written though, I recommend it.

One of the entries I read was: An embarrassing question for you.

A friend of mine has this habit of asking people about their most embarrassing moments. She believes that you know everything you need to know about someone with just 4 questions:
What makes you immensely happy?
What makes you terribly sad?
What makes you proud?
What embarrasses you?

They are actually pretty tricky questions to answer honestly.

What has been my most embarrassing real-life moment? I can’t be 100% sure, but one of the top-ranking moments happened just a few years ago.

It happened in the lounge in my friend’s house. It was her birthday, and we were having a rather civilized lunch affair to celebrate. A guest who has just arrived, walked into the lounge with a girl on his arm. I smiled at him, recognizing his face, but unable to place him.

I blurted out the first thing that came to mind: “You look familiar!” My friend and the guest both smiled at me, thinking that I was being coy. The smile soon slipped off my friend’s face when she realized I wasn’t joking.

It was her brother, she informed me quietly. Her brother: the one who I had met the year before and hit it off with, much to my friend’s disgust. She had deserved it at the time, after basically telling me her brother wouldn’t find me attractive. The fact that he was very easy on the eyes had helped, too.

Her brother kept smiling charmingly and introduced me to his girlfriend. I hastily fled to the kitchen in shame.

What are your stories?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

