promoting your online fiction

After hours of intensive, careful, scientific research seeing what all the authors I follow on twitter do, reading a blog post or two, etc, I compiled the list of following websites and ideas for fellow online authors who want to promote their serial and expand their readership.

Online Fiction Directories
You’ll need to register an account with most of these sites, and then submit your listing. It often takes a few days for your submission to be approved. When it has been, make sure to post your listing link on your story’s website, to encourage readers to rate/review!

Web Fiction Guidefor all sorts of novels, series, blogfics, and more, 310+ listed. listing takes a while, but there seems to be quite a high review rate.

Muse’s Successa catalogue of freely available webnovels and serials, 266+ listed, review-focused.

Free Fiction Onlinewill also tweet about your fiction on @onlinefiction!

Blovelonly for blognovels, so clearly I haven’t used it. If you have, please let me know in the comments what it’s like!

Scifimatter.comnot writing-specific, but they have a subsection for online sci-fi/fantasy writing links. more of a links directory than a review website.

EpiGuidenot writing-specific, it’s a web entertainment forum/community with a directory: make sure your listing is in both the ‘web series’ and ‘online fiction’ categories.

On Your Website
Link to other authors on your website. Some people are happy to reciprocate.

Make your website interactive for your readers with:

• Comment capabilities
• Polls
• Point / reward systems
• Forums
• Competitions
• Wikis

Not to mention make your site available on stumbleupon, delicious, digg, reddit, etc.

Other
Join the webserials twibe on twitter!

Collaborate with other authors via exchange / guest fics so that their readers discover you and yours discover them.

Make story pages on facebook, myspace, or livejournal — I’ve only done the latter, but some do all three.

Note!
Being active on the above websites helps, too. At the very least, customize your profile and add a few links to other authors you admire. The downside is that promoting your fiction can be distracting to the point of you not writing anything.

Also, only list your webserial ONCE per website/forum/directory. Spamming these places really is counter-productive. Plus I don’t want a lot of angry people chasing after me with sticks.

Do all the above, in the hope that you gain one more reader. Life is tough, yes.

Anything I missed?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Webfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to promoting your online fiction

  1. horrorible says:

    I found your post on “Promoting Your Online Fiction” very informing. I’m new to all this online chatter—blogs, Facebook, Twitter, etc., so for me it was not only informing, but also coffee sniffing, waking me up to get involved online. Like you I’ve been writing for a while, although it’s just within that past month that I’m looking into the web as a way to promote anything I write. My wife has been telling me for a while to do SOMETHING with my writing, so here I am. Your post is invaluable for someone like me. Thank you.

    • I’m glad you found it helpful. :)

      If you’re new to posting stuff online, something else that can help is to look at how other authors organize their websites. I see you’re using WordPress.com. I use it as well (see here). Some authors instead set up their own websites (e.g. Addergoole, Children of the Apocalypse, Strange Little Band). I’d recommend scoping out different author sites and copying the layout/things you like! For example, your blog could benefit from a table of contents.

  2. Lyn Thorne-Alder says:

    Tweet! Twitter & Web Fiction Guide have been my two major traffic-getters, & I think a lot of that is “networking” w/ other writes (such as yourself ;-) on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

