novel push initiative: day one

It is marathon time. No, not for running; I’m a lazy person. Marathon writing time!

Yes, you read that right: today the Novel Push Initiative begins. Here come 3 weeks of daily writing.

I sat in front of my screen, pondering on where to begin, until I decided to make use of a website Merrilee Faber pointed out yesterday: Feath’s Tarot Quick Question (which is now listed on the links page).

You’re only supposed to ask yes/no questions, but rules were made to be broken. Below are the questions I asked it. Of course, the answers are vague and open to interpretation, but that’s why it works well as a writing prompt.

******

1. Why does the villain want the protagonist?
Reversed Wheel of Fortune: increase, abundance, superfluity.

I interpret: He wants her for money.

2. What is [a particular character] like?
The Magician: Skill, diplomacy, address, subtlety, sickness, pain, loss, disaster, snares of enemies, self-confidence.

Funnily enough, that actually matches my image of him.

3. Will the protagonist triumph?
Reversed High Priestess: Passion, moral or physical ardour, conceit, surface knowledge.

Being my only yes/no question, it was amusing to get the answer ‘maybe’. The results match with what I had in mind though, which was that the protagonist doesn’t fully understand the situation and is surrounded by deceitful people. The passion/physical ardour could relate to how she falls for a morally ambiguous character.

******

I asked a couple more random questions, then realized I was procrastinating. It’s good fun, though. You should try it.

After all that, today’s word count: 594 (daily goal is 250).

I’ll check back in later this week and let you know how I’m doing.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to novel push initiative: day one

  1. Merrilee says:

    Oh yeah, did I forget to mention it’s great for procrastinating? Ah ha ha.

    Good start on the words, keep it up!

Leave a Reply

