how i tweet

Inspired by @inkyelbows‘ link to her twitter policy, I thought of outlining a similar policy for my two twitter accounts, @quillsandzebras and @am_harte.

Now you may think it is silly for me to have two accounts. It may be silly, actually, but that is how it is, so there.

@quillsandzebras is my personal account.

I use this account for

– Talking about chocolate;
– Talking about my life;
– Posting links to this blog;
– Posting publishing related info;
– Chatting to friends, family and acquaintances;
– Sharing amusing/silly/otherwise interesting links.

I will follow you with this account if

-I personally know you in meatspace;
-I consider you a friend;
-I regularly read your work/your blog;
-Your tweets are relevant and interesting or devastatingly witty;
-You work in publishing, particularly if in/near London;
-For other unknown reasons.

You’re welcome to follow this account if you want to, but I don’t automatically follow people back unless they look like they’ll fit into one of the reasons above.

If I am interested in you but you don’t fit into the listed reasons, I’ll probably follow you back with my other account. Which brings me to…

@am_harte is my writing account

There are so many authors, editors, and writing-related twitter accounts out there. I can’t keep up with them all, but I am interested. So I’ll follow them with this account and every now and then I sit and read through pages and pages of tweets.

I don’t check this account as often, but I do respond to every DM or @reply.

I use this account for

– Tweeting about writing resources;
– Tweeting about my own writing progress;
– Sharing links to stories worth checking out;
– Sharing reviews for works I’ve read;
– Joining in on twitter writing chats;
– And other relevant writing and reading-type things.
– And the inevitable nonsense, although less so than my personal account.

I will follow you with this account if

– You tweet about writing;
– You’re a fellow author;
– You’re an editor/agent/someone in publishing;
– We share similar reading interests;
– I think you look interesting;
– And other unknown reasons.

And if I don’t follow you back with either account?

Some of you lucky few are followed by both. That’s because you’re cool.

Some of you are not followed by either. Why?

– You’re a bot;
– You only tweet about yourself/your book;
– You have no bio, posts or followers;
– Your tweets are protected and I can’t tell who you are;
– Your tweets are mostly in another language;
– You rarely post about writing/publishing;
– You tweet way too much;
– I haven’t noticed you following me;
– Other unknown reasons.

There. I have said it. Any questions?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to how i tweet

  1. Jan Oda says:

    Why do I get the feeling you are actually spending more time on the am_harte account?

    • a.m.harte says:

      Because I do? I have more to say about writing and webfiction than about my personal life, clearly. But I need the quillsandzebras one for when I want to tweet really silly things.

  2. Think making policy clear is a great idea, and love the “no-follow” list, especially the first one – it’s amazing (and infuriating) how many “people” actually DO turn out to be bots!

Leave a Reply

