writing challenge: search terms

Search terms are odd beasts. Being a little obsessed with scrutinizing my website performance, I have noticed that the search terms used to arrive at my website, Qazyfiction, border on the bizarre.

So, to celebrate Qazyfiction’s two month anniversary, I am running a writing challenge. All you have to do is write a short story or poem which includes at least six out of the seven search terms listed below. It can be as short as you want, but please keep it from going over 1,000 words within the 500-1,500 range.

The search terms are:

• witch lick feet
• took her towel
• a door upstairs
• kidnapping fantasies
• tightened around her belly
• push her head down
• slavers

And, yes, these are all real phrases people used to find my website.

Any genre is allowed. Any rating is allowed. All you have to do is use six out of these seven phrases. Easy, yes?

You may use these phrases in any way, changing the tense or plurality if needed (because, well, ‘witch lick feet’ doesn’t make much sense).

Post your story on your blog/website and leave a link here in the comments section. And if you’re on Twitter, let me know your username so I can tweet about it!

Alternatively, you can email me your completed story at annamichelleharte@googlemail.com and I’ll post it here. Remember to include the title, your name (and your twitter ID if you have it). A 2-3 line ‘about the author’ blurb would also be great.

On October 1st I’ll post my own short story here and write a round up of any other entries.

And if enough entries are received I’ll run a poll and we can pick a winner! The prize is, of course, eternal recognition and fame.

Most of all, have fun!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to writing challenge: search terms

  1. MCM says:

    Here’s my entry: Yellow Towel.
    http://1889.ca/2009/09/topic-tag-yellow-towel.html

    I used all but one of the terms, because I felt that would be pushing it :P

  2. Nancy says:

    I’m determined to use “witch lick feet” somehow. No inspiration yet. Hmm…

  3. Aaaaaand if anyone has ended up at this post and not seen my entry, it’s here!

  4. Pingback: Sea Song « Not Enough Words

  5. Pingback: search term challenge – voting open! « quillsandzebras

Leave a Reply

