i’m on a broll!

[Cross-posted from The Dispatch, a live blogging website chronicling the 3D1D experiment that is MCM writing an entire draft of a novel in three days. Crazy man.]

******

(Anna) 1.34 pm A time for me to ramble a little.

The title does not mean I am physically on some weird object called a “broll”, but that literally I am on a blogging roll. Counting this post, I’ve written 4.5 entries here on The Dispatch (the .5 comes from the one where me and Jan both contributed).

Of course, this doesn’t compare in the least to the amount of words that Michael Celery Milligan is churning out, but this is probably the most I’ve ever written consecutively in one day. It’s kind of impressive, and also humbling; if only I wrote like this on my WIPs!

Live blogging is something I have never done, it is anxiety-inducing yet strangely addictive. I wonder if this is how MCM feels, filled with an odd nervous excitement?

It’s strangely liberating to be able to chat away without worrying about needing to edit or construct my argument carefully. Of course, the downside is I am basically rambling at you, but I think I’m a passably entertaining rambler. Don’t you? (Warning: the only answer to this is “yes” or “yes, Mistress”.)

Having to put the time stamp on the top of every post or addition to a post makes me feel like Bridget Jones. Should I be adding in my cigarette count (0 – I don’t smoke), my calorie intake (0 – been too busy), number of phone calls answered (1), number of phone calls rejected (2)?

Anyway, back to the matter at hand: this marathon, to me, is comparable to how I used to feel at the beginning of a cross-country race, surrounded by all these cheering people, everyone rooting for you. But at the end of the day it is you who has to run the race, and you alone. It’s a race against yourself, against your own limitations.

This is especially so for cross-country, where during the middle part of the race – perhaps the hardest part – you are alone, running through fields, with no one around to check your progress and push you on. That’s when you start to falter, to think you’re not going to make it to the other end.

Let’s not let that happen to MCM. Yes – ultimately this is a personal race for him, an endurance test of sorts – but our cheering and support will help MCM get to the finish line.

So comment on his chapters. Tweet answers to his chapter questions. Tell your friends about #3D1D. Buy banner adspace. And know that you are playing a part in helping this crazy man survive his mission nigh-on impossible.

*****

Have no idea what I’m talking about? Check it out.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Webfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

