search term writing challenge: results!

I’m afraid I may not be as eloquent as I would have liked to be for this post, for my brain is a little fried after three days of intensive live blogging over at The Dispatch. But I shall do my best.

You probably saw or heard of the search term writing challenge I set back in September, or, at the very least, had a glance through the round-up of all entries, in which I invited you to vote on your favourite entry.

The results were actually very close, constantly (and rather annoyingly) tied. But someone did pull ahead. And that someone was Merrilee Faber, with her mythical and magical tale Sea Song.

SearchTerm Writing Challenge 1 Winner

Sea Song is a journey story through the eyes of Mana Nama, a sea goddess of sorts, captivated by the song of a siren. The writing is highly descriptive, and originally so; I particularly liked the musical conversation between the sea goddess and the siren.

What most struck me about Merrilee’s story is that she managed to include rather bizarre search terms, without sounding the least bit kinky; out of all the entries, hers was perhaps the least disturbing. Sea Song was also the only entry set in the ocean, so kudos for a creative setting.

An excerpt from the story itself:

At the rail stood a tiny wisp of a girl, in a white shift, blinding in the sun. Her shaven head and hollow cheeks made her dark eyes look enormous. Behind her, one hand resting on her shoulder, stood a man in a green coat.

Mana Nama raised her head and met the girl’s gaze. A glissando of joy burst in her mind. No more loneliness, the melody sang. She rested her chin gently on the rail, careful not to tilt the ship and throw the girl off-balance. A tiny hand reached out to rest on the tip of her nose. In the girl’s dark eyes, Mana Nama saw the vibrato note of fear.

“Raise the sails,” said the man in the green coat. “We’re going home.”

What are you waiting for? Go read it.

Of course, Merrilee’s entry was not the only one, and I recommend you check out the writing round-up post and read the others.

Last of all, a big round of applause to all the participants, and, of course, another little badge:

Search Term Writing Challenge 1 Participant

As MCM would say, thanks for being part of the problem.

Want a badge of your own?

I will be running a future search term writing challenge, but it’s currently on hold as I have family over this weekend, am starting a new job on Monday, and, also, it’s my birthday next week, so….

Soon, I promise.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Webfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to search term writing challenge: results!

  1. Eli James says:

    Oh my, that DOES sound fun. Will you be taking part in it, despite being the organizer?

    • I always take part. :D

      Speaking of, I made the mistake this time around to include myself in the voting, only to then actively go around telling people not to vote for me.

      That was my lesson learnt from this time around.

      Would you take part? Thinking of getting back into fiction writing?

  2. MCM says:

    Yay Merrilee! Congrats! Does this mean you’re more disturbing than I am? I think it does. You should make THAT a badge. Though I guess any badge that says “witch lick feet” is pretty disturbing to begin with.

    We need to do more of these things. They’re the most fun you can have without a can opener!

  3. Merrilee says:

    Thank you Anna! I shall display my badge with pride :) And frighten many an innocent mind in the process, I’m sure.

    I had great fun with this challenge, and I look forward to the next one. I hope you recover from your liveblogging marathon soon.

    I actually had a look at the search terms on my blog the other day, and I’m thinking of holding a challenge of my own after seeing some of the terms that came up. Scary!

  4. Pingback: Cranky « Not Enough Words

  5. An ingenious and brilliant winner. I didn’t understand a word of it (apparently) but I was sure it was good.

Leave a Reply

