searchterm challenge round 2 – results!

Let’s be honest here. The whole point of round 2 was to unseat last round‘s crown-holder, Merrilee Faber, from her lofty perch, to give someone else the chance to have a shiny badge with their name on it.

So I outlined the rules of the challenge, posted a round-up, and asked you to vote.

This round’s line up of entries was great, and – dare I say it? – much better than last time.

But, of course, only one person can win. And that person is, yet again, Merrilee Faber, with the dark and gritty Day Job.

SearchTerm Writing Challenge 2 Winner

Day Job is a tale of angels and demons, with a very strong character voice that is immediately captivating. I love the character’s almost matter-of-fact tone, the way he conveys beautiful images so simply. Needless to say, if Merrilee wants to continue the story, I’m all for it.

An excerpt from the story itself:

“Leave it!” He hauled her out, shedding paraphernalia and weeping like the world was ending. Smoke rushed into the room when they opened the front door and I heard her wailing all the way down the steps.

I went to open the bedroom door to help the fire spread. Glass crunched beneath my boot. I’d stepped on one of the pictures the old woman had dropped; a faded, sepia-toned shot of a fat kid on a rocking horse. A son, I guessed; the walls were covered in photos of him, chronicling the minutiae of his life.

I followed the story; baby, toddler, fat kid on a trike, skinny kid in a lifesaver’s togs, pimply teenager. The largest was hanging above a crowded shelf of shells; a young man in uniform. Queensland Police Academy, Class of ‘84. There were no more photos after that.

What are you waiting for? Go read it.

While you’re at it, head on over to the writing round-up post and read the others, because, let me tell you, Merrilee’s win didn’t come easy.

Here were the voting results as at midnight:

Search term challenge 2 results

Before I forget, many thanks to Nancy from Strange Little Band for providing the search terms.

Lastly, a big round of applause to all participants, and a little badge for you:

Search Term Writing Challenge 2 Participant

Want a badge of your own? The next search term challenge will begin mid-December. Hands up who’s going to take part!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Webfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to searchterm challenge round 2 – results!

  1. Pingback: A boost when I needed it most – thank you! « Not Enough Words

  2. Merrilee says:

    Thanks to everyone who voted and participated. It means a lot to me that you liked my story.

    I won’t be participating in the next round; my crown is ready to pass on. But I am looking forward to the entries!

    I encourage everyone to have a go – this is such a fun and inspiring challenge.

  3. MauiPotiki says:

    Well I’m taking part, and I have to say that I’m sorry that you won’t be Merrilee! Can I say that victory next time would be all that much more sweeter if I can pry the crown from your hands? :)

    Congrats Merrilee, all the same!

  4. J.C says:

    lol I was pretty sure that was your story, and I was also pretty sure you were going to win again! well done, well deserved.

  5. Pingback: And the results are out « letters from silent hill

  6. Pingback: Struggling « J. C. Hart

  7. Pingback: Do you feel LUCKY? « Not Enough Words

Leave a Reply

