useful blogs for writers?

There are so many blogs out there on writing, that I could probably spend all day reading them and not actually getting any writing done.

But—like with anything—there are only so many blogs you can follow before it all gets overwhelming.

The only blog I seem to check with any regularity is Inkygirl, which is consistently entertaining, thought-provoking and honest.

But I’d like to test the waters and see what else is out there. So I figured I’d be lazy and ask the writers I know to give me their advice.

What writing blogs do you read? Which have you found the most helpful, and why?

I’m thinking of writing a round-up of writing blogs, so your thoughts are much appreciated.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to useful blogs for writers?

  1. Irk says:

    I hit a couple of sites from time to time to keep an eye on the publishing industry. To be honest I focus less time on writing-craft sites by writers and more on just reading books and learning “in the field”, because most authors keep saying the same things over and over (or getting a little too mad at whatever industry they’ve chosen not to publish in for me to tolerate). Most of the bloggers I read are editors or agents. So here’s my usual haunts:

    http://editorialanonymous.blogspot.com/ Editorial Anonymous

    http://editorialass.blogspot.com/ Editorial Ass (Book People Are Nice is a must-read for any writer who wants to keep friends. I re-read it often. XD )

    http://cba-ramblings.blogspot.com/ Rachelle Gardner (has some great stuff on how to write a cover letter)

    I do follow one writer’s blog, because I like what he posts (and MCM has guest posted there!) and I think he’s pretty useful: http://www.alanbaxteronline.com/ Alan Baxter’s pretty swell to follow on Twitter too.

  2. Isa says:

    I don’t know if Novelr could be considered a “writing” blog :) If not then my answer is: I don’t read writing blogs.

    I find people pontificating about writing– good, bad and otherwise– pretty pointless because most people who consider themselves “writers”, regardless of whether they have the pedigree to back that up or not, completely miss what writing is about. It’s not about YOU and what you think, it’s about the audience and what they think. There are so many examples of books that have trampled over every standard of good prose and been successful, and books that have conformed to the “rules” gracefully and bombed, and books that were largely ignored until society shifted to recognize the inherent truth in the work.

    There’s such a spray shot when it comes to success and making an impact with writing that I’ve come to settle on the unpopular opinion I think: screw the rules, write something that satisfies you the way it satisfies you. Don’t pay attention to anyone else’s opinion. :)

    • a.m.harte says:

      Fair enough!

      I read writing blogs because I find them a source of inspiration. It doesn’t necessarily mean I agree with everything I read, or try to stick to the rules they come up with, but I find it interesting to see what other people think about writing, because it helps me understand my own relationship with it.

  3. L. says:

    If time is an issue, might I suggest an alternative to blogs then. I listen to a lot of gaming podcasts because while it is an interest of mine, I don’t have time to keep up with the news sites and blogs during my computer time. Podcasts however I can load up on my iPod and take with me when I’m traveling.

    For a writing podcast I really recommend Writing Excuses. http://www.writingexcuses.com/

  4. Every Sunday I do a weekly review of posts that I’ve read that have been helpful. Some blogs are regularly on the list – such as Elizabeth Spann Craig’s ‘Mystery Writing is Murder’. Anyway, I invite readers to add their own posts in the comments and recommentd blogs to me that they have found helpful. You should check it out one week.

Leave a Reply

