a 2010 top 10 to-read list

The Year Zero Writers have the rather catchy ‘Writing is for Readers‘ tag line, but—as Dan Holloway points out—the converse is also true: reading is for writers.

Like Dan, I feel as if I haven’t read enough this year. What with starting my serial last July, and then getting swallowed whole by the webfiction community, I have neglected my dear old friend, the print book.

I can’t deny that I’ve uncovered some pretty awesome people, and awesome stories. But I think, online, I read far more for easy pleasure, and far less to learn about writing, and how to improve my own writing.

In the meanwhile, I’ve accumulated a stack of print books, that sit lonely in one corner, begging to be read. Not to mention my growing Goodreads to-read list, which is now at an epic 90 books.

So this is a list of ten books, in no particular order, that I plan to read in 2010:

I actually have read half of Perfume as well as the first few chapters of The Sun Also Rises, although I can’t remember why I stopped reading. It irks me to know I’ve left them unfinished, probably for no good reason, which is why they’re on the list.

Anyhow. I think the list above is a good starting point, and hopefully will manage to read even further and cut down my Goodreads list.

Has anyone else compiled a to-read list yet?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to a 2010 top 10 to-read list

  1. Read American Gods twice! I love that book – it will show, here and there, in Addergoole ;-)

    • a.m.harte says:

      I’ve read Stardust and Neverwhere and a short story collection by Neil Gaiman.. Everyone keeps saying American Gods is the best so I’m dying to read it!

      • Sora says:

        I’ve stardust too. I had American Gods, I read the first page, but I had to return it back to the library the next day since I had already renewed it twice. =/ It sounds like a good book, I need more time to read it though.

        • a.m.harte says:

          I got Stardust because it was in the airport and was on sale for only £5 – loved it, and it was great to have something to keep me entertained throughout all the delays.

  2. I’m reading Far From the Madding Crowd at the moment. I haven’t read anything else on the list although I did read Philip K Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep which I loved! You remind me I should really make a list of what to read next year, its getting closer and closer.

    • a.m.harte says:

      I read Do Androids… this year, it’s what got me thinking that I should venture out a bit more and read some more Philip K Dick! Then I read the indie published Broken Bulbs by Eddie Wright, and many people drew comparisons between it and A Scanner Darkly, which is how the book ended up on my to-read list.

      And, I encourage you to write a list! I’m a big list fan, somehow it helps me get things done!

  3. Elle says:

    I’ve only read Perfume out of those. I need to finish my ‘to-read’ list on Goodreads as well, and try and keep the numbers down in 2010 – no more buying books until I’ve finished what I own already!! :)

    • a.m.harte says:

      It’s so tempting to just keep adding to the Goodreads ‘to-read’ list, isn’t it? I’ve started giving out the link during my birthday or at Christmas to my family/friends so they know what to get me!

Leave a Reply

