a short, general writing meme

Like any good writer, I am a procrastinator. There are a myriad of things I could be working on, but why do them, when I have a meme to fill?

I unfortunately can’t remember where I got this one from, but—all ye writers reading this—consider yourselves duly tagged.

******

1. List one of your writing goals for the upcoming month and how likely you are to accomplish it.

A tricksy question. I like to set myself goals (I work better under pressure) but if I plan too far in advance, I tend to falter.

I guess I would like to have Book 1 of Above Ground wrapped up, or at least verging on completion. And, I’m pretty sure I’ll make it! The weekly deadlines keep me on track for the most part.

2. What genre or subject you would like to write about that you aren’t currently?

I don’t know. I’m working on so many projects at the same time, all of which are in slightly different genres, that I don’t feel like I’m missing out on much. Except, perhaps, writing stories for younger audiences. So far I’ve focused on writing adult fiction; I’m tempted to try my hand at MG level stuff.

3. What is your writing lifestyle, habits? How do you manage the interruptions with your writing? How do you stay positive? Believe in your writing success?

I don’t have specific writing habits. I squeeze writing it whenever I can: on public transport, during lunch breaks, when I get home in the evenings…. Anytime except for early mornings! Rather than work regularly, I work around deadlines. I set myself targets, and force myself to reach them by the due date, even if it means staying up late the night before and getting everything done then.

Interruptions? Can’t stand them! If I’m just brainstorming or jotting down ideas, I kind of like the background hubbub of a cafe. But when I am full-out writing nothing beats my lonely, quiet room. I can’t even have music playing when I’m in the groove. And if someone interrupts me, they’re likely to get snapped at.

Staying positive — I try not to think too far ahead in the future, and just focus on how much I am enjoying myself right now.

Lastly, when it comes to believing in my writing success…. I’m not sure I do, to be honest. I’m just stubborn enough to want to keep trying, anyway.

4. Are you a pantser or plotter?

Why does everyone ask this question? I think I’m a bit of both, some kind of borderline case, not quite one, not quite the other.

5. Who are two of your favorite current authors and why?

Currently Neil Gaiman tops the list. ‘Twas love at first read when I discovered Neverwhere last summer, and reading his other works has just added to that love. American Gods is actually on my 2010 to-read list. He manages to write so simply, yet beautifully, creating refreshingly magical universes that are unique and a joy to explore. I envy his talent.

I have no other current favourite, although a long-time favourite is Philip Pullman, because Northern Lights is a tale that pulled at my heartstrings, and manages, somehow, to recapture me every single time I re-read it.

6. How does your family feel about your writing?

All of them encourage it. My sister was my first fan, to be honest, and tends to screen a lot of my stories. My mother has even tried to read Above Ground despite having never read any fantasy or science fiction before!

My brother is a creative, a musician, so I think he out of all the family is the one who most understands the need to create, and the call of inspiration.

My dad, perhaps, is the one most focused on my potential writing successes, if any. Which is funny, because he is probably the one to have read the least of my writing.

******

And that’s it. Short and sweet.

Feel free to procrastinate by filling this meme in yourself, and be sure to leave a link in the comments; I’d love to see your responses!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

