what lovers do

Books bought 2; toblerones consumed 1; brownies scoffed 6; short stories written 0.5.

My flat. So far have spent the evening procrastinating. I have drawn up a to do list, I have contemplated dinner, I’ve reorganized the categories on this blog (and subsequently gone through and made sure each post is in the right place), and mused over who I will vote for tomorrow (still undecided).

That’s when I realized I hardly ever blog on here about what’s going on in my life outside of writing and reading, which is silly because I enjoy those kinds of posts from the blogs I follow (Jessica‘s Sunday Reflections being a prime example).

So…. What to tell you?

Well a couple days ago I ordered two books to treat myself since last Friday was payday. I was going to go for some more classics, but I’ve been reading quite a few classics recently so I thought I’d indulge myself a little. The first book I ordered is Tamsin by Peter S Beagle, for three reasons: first, Merrilee highly recommended it; second, I really enjoyed his other book The Last Unicorn; third, I’m intrigued by ghost stories since I’m writing one (DarkSight). So that should be fun to read!

The other book I bought is due to my days as a fanfiction addict. As an addict, I was very aware of the big name fan Cassandra Claire/Clare, and really enjoyed her Harry Potter fanfiction (still have it on my hard drive somewhere). So I thought I’d give her novel City of Bones a try. While I’m a little irked that she seems to completely deny her fanfiction roots (besides the similarity between her pseudonyms), I’m interested to see what her original writing is like.

In other news, I’ve been trying my hand at writing an entry or two for the Granta Brief Encounter contest (the deadline is this Friday), but it’s a lot harder to write a short story in 11-sentences than I thought it would be!

Tomorrow and Friday are going to be busy days I expect. I need to be in at work early tomorrow, but luckily that means I get to leave early so I can go vote! Friday I may meet up with a friend who wants me to write him a story about him (ha!) so it’s just as well DarkSight‘s Episode 02 is already ready and scheduled to post.

Finally, to get to the reason why this blog post has the title it does: my brother’s band The Jukebox Leans have a new music video up for their song What Lovers Do. I’m in it, and I look halfway respectable. So watch it!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Ze Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to what lovers do

  1. Najela says:

    City of Bones has been on reading list forever. The library kept sending me the second and the third, but I finally got the first waiting for me, but I’m too lazy to go pick it up.

    Have you read Sarah Rees-Brennan’s “The Demon’s Lexicon?” It’s a really good book, she has a really unique writing style.

    • a.m.harte says:

      No I haven’t read it or even heard of her! Just had a look at it on goodreads, seems interesting. What do you like about it in particular?

  2. vjchambers says:

    Not crazy about the first two pages of Cassandra Claire’s book. Her “as-you-know-bob” dialogue really pissed me off. I wrote a blog about it, in fact…

    http://vjchambers.blogspot.com/2009/07/boy-did-i-just-read-most-interesting.html

    I also didn’t know about the fan fiction hoopla until googling her. :)

    • a.m.harte says:

      I really enjoyed her fanfiction actually. Yes, it’s not awesomely written, but I don’t really read YA for it’s writing style. :-P

      The plagiarism thing didn’t bother me much. At the time when I read it, I remember at the end of every chapter she ‘fessed up on the references, so it seemed okay to me, and it was fanfiction, so… meh. Take what you get.

      Anyway I’m not expecting much from the stories, although I’ll admit to liking flowery badly-written YA novels. I’m a masochist like that. :-D

  3. Elisabeth says:

    Nice music video and good song!

Leave a Reply

