How to Disappear Completely by David Bowick

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This free ebook novella has been on my to-read list for a while, and I finally got around to it a couple days ago. It’s fresh and witty and very entertaining; perfect for a quick read!

Plot summary:

Sitting at the top of a Ferris wheel overlooking the Boston skyline, Josh’s life takes an unexpected turn, and things will never be the same. Along with the many surprises on his life’s new path, he’ll come to take life advice from a family of ducks, get in a bloody war with a dog, lose his job over a spilled drink, wake up in the hospital, apply to work at an adult-themed novelty bakery, and find out that people often aren’t what they seem. When you’re at the top of the world, there’s nowhere to go but down.

Thoughts:

This is a short, quick read, very well-written, perhaps best categorized as a contemporary comedy/romance. It wasn’t really the plot synopsis that drew me in — if anything, the title had me intrigued. But as soon as I started reading, the witty down-to-earth narrator sucked me right in.

The plot isn’t the most original nor gripping, but the comedic tone is very engaging. It examines the ending and beginning of relationships from a male perspective. The main character deals with some pretty drastic changes.

The story is tragic in a funny way, the main character a hapless man for whom everything seems to go wrong. And while he’s not entirely likeable as a character, you definitely empathize with him — he could easily be one of your mates, telling you about his adventures. I mean, read the opening paragraph:

It’s amazing how fast you can run when there’s a fucking rottweiler chasing you. Few domesticated animals can instill such fear in someone as a rottweiler can. Why anyone would ever want to house such a monster is a mystery to me. They’re not lovable, they’re not cute and they’re not beautiful. They slobber on everything, shit everywhere, and could easily eat the face off a child. Lovely. Sign me up for one. Make that two, actually.

This is a book I enjoyed mostly for the author’s style — and the classic hilarious comedy moments in Starbucks and with the dog. It’s light and funny and quick, and I recommend you check it out.

This book is part of my 100+ Reading Challenge!
Read it for free online on Feedbooks.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Contemporary, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Disappear Completely by David Bowick

  1. Peep says:

    Hey thanks for this! I’ve actually never heard of feedbooks before, looks like a cool site. I downloaded this for my Kindle because I couldn’t resist it after reading your review! I don’t think it’s what I’d normally pick up but it was free, very easy to download, and I can’t resist a fun story. Plus, I’d like to know what he learns from ducks!

Leave a Reply

