Reader’s Log #1

What with the new review focus of this blog, I thought it might be helpful if I now and then broke away from reviews to give you a little update on what is going on in my life and on my bookshelves.

On my bookshelf…

I’ve been taking it easy lately as I am ahead of schedule for the 100+ Book Challenge. I have however been seriously considering buying the latest Charlaine Harris, but am not sure I want to fork out the money for a hardback.

Speaking of other formats… I’ve already finished the ebook Mated by Zoe Winters, and a review of that should be coming soon to wrap up my review of the Blood Lust trilogy. I’ve also begun delving into an ebook by the similarly-named but entirely different Zoe E. Whitten — her most recent ebook release is Sole Survivor Club which promises to become more and more ghoulish. I have actually been reading (and writing) more horrific stories recently; I think it’s to make up for all the romances I’ve read this year!

What else? Oh yes! After SSC, I fully intend to read Graham Storr’s TimeSplash since I was lucky enough to win it in a contest! Me, win something! I’d completely forgotten about the contest, I’d figured I wouldn’t win anyway. TimeSplash is a science fiction thriller and I’m pretty keen to get stuck into it. I mean, look at the blurb:

Jumping back in time is harmless and fun—until people start getting killed.
Sandra’s ex boyfriend, Sniper, has a special place in her heart—she’s dedicated to hunting him down and killing him. Jay lost his best friend to Sniper’s terrorist activities. They’re both struggling with fear and uncertainty, and it’s not easy for the two of them to join forces. But nothing’s easy when every move you make threatens to unravel the fabric of the universe! Content Warning: Contains some strong language and adult themes.

On Webfiction

Speaking of changes on ye olde blog… Being a big fan of webfiction, and an author of webfiction myself, I figured it would be nice to help promote the medium via my blog.

First of all, if you’re not sure what webfiction is all about, check out my new webfiction page. It’s a (hopefully) succinct guide introducing the subject and giving some starter points for the curious. I am also working on building up a comprehensive list of webfiction-related sites, Twitter chats, etc. but that’s still in the making.

My aim is to recommend some webfiction every time I write up a reader’s log (probably on a weekly basis) just to encourage y’all to give online fiction a try! To get you started, I thought I’d point you to a couple short stories so you can get a taster of what’s out there:

  • Eat My Gun by John Wiswell, an amusing Western tale;
  • May I Come In? by Melissa L. Webb, spine-tingling and very clever.

What are you waiting for? Go check them out. That’s it from me at the moment. Thanks for stopping by and I’d love to hear your thoughts on the new blog layout!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Book Chat and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reader’s Log #1

  1. Thanks for the shout out. Your story, “Rescue Missions”, was one of my favorites as well. :)

Leave a Reply

