5 minutes with Zoe Winters

Zoe Winters is the independent paranormal romance author behind Blood Lust, a trilogy of novellas which gives readers a snapshot look at the world of the Preternaturals Series.

As I’ve just finished reviewing the trilogy — Kept, Claimed, and Mated — I thought it’d be fun to get Zoe to visit and answer a couple questions.

***

AMH: Which of the three Blood Lust novellas was your favourite to write and why?

ZW: Either Claimed or Mated were my favorite to write. I really liked the heroes in both stories. Kept is a little bit lighter and more like a B-movie that’s poking fun at itself, and Claimed and Mated start to get away from that feel just a little bit. But when we’re talking about final finished product, probably Mated is my favorite because I feel like the writing is stronger and the emotions are deeper. More than one person has told me that Jane felt SO real to them, especially scenes such as her dream/flashback that explain her claustrophobia.

AMH: Your books have some hot male characters, but who’s the sexiest?

ZW: Cain. Without a doubt. But, he just got a small part in Mated. Readers will get a larger taste of him in Save My Soul (the next book) where he’s the villain. But later he gets his own book where he’s the hero. I have such a wrong crush on him. I mean yeah… he kills his meals (he’s an incubus), but… because my world has reincarnation in it, he doesn’t really see it as “ending them”, it’s more like “inconveniencing them”.

AMH: Given the choice, which kind of preternatural would you be?

ZW: Hmmmm, I don’t know. I’d either want to be a succubus, or a claimed human mated with a not completely horrible vampire like Anthony. I’d like the perks of the eternal life, but wouldn’t want the blood drinking or sunlight issues. And I don’t think I’d want to be a shapeshifter.

AMH: Tell us one fun behind-the-scenes fact.

ZW: Hehe you make it sound like we’re on a movie set and my characters are hanging out eating all my popcorn. Actually Luc would probably eat all the cookies in the house if he could. (Luc is the incubus hero in Save My Soul). They don’t have to eat human food, but they can. Some of them find it pleasurable. Probably the most “fun” fact is that I was driving down the road in the historic district of my town past a big plantation-style house I love, when most of the plot for Save My Soul just kind of fell into my head. I’ve never had anything like that happen before. Normally it’s a much more organic thing and much less instant “here’s the plot”.

AMH: What new and exciting things can we expect from the Preternatural series?

ZW: The next book will focus on the incubi, so that’ll have most groups pretty well introduced. The vampires, magic users, therians, and demons. Also, future books will be full-length novels rather than novellas. The world is expanding to the point where it’s hard to keep it to novella-length. The novellas were teasers and gave me the ability to break my work apart and sell the individual pieces, as well as combine it together.

We also get into reincarnation more and how it features in this fictional world. It’s touched on very briefly in Mated, but more comes out in Save My Soul. Also we find out information that the Vatican has been holding back as well as manufacturing about the various dimensions, gods, and etc.

For more information check out Zoe’s main site.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 5 minutes with Zoe Winters

  1. zoewinters says:

    Thanks for having me!

  2. Jan Oda says:

    I totally missed this!
    I have to say, after reading Kept, that I think novel length might suit you better. So I’m looking forward to the new book. Though I’m not entirely sure I like incubi. Needless to say, if I could pick, I’d be a shifter all the way. Not a were though, but a shifter, yes please.

Leave a Reply

