Reader’s Log #3

I should really do these updates more often (like how Jessica does her Sunday Reflections) but somehow I always forget to. So let me sit down on this quiet Sunday — the quiet before the storm! — and give you a little update.

Tomorrow I start my new job. I say start, but it’s only half-start as I still have a lot of hangover work from my previous job to finish off. And I’m only going to move one row of desks over. But still! I’m looking forward to the change. (My current job is a legal market researcher and writer for business to business publications, my new job will probably also have a similar title, but will involve a lot less interviewing and writing, and a lot more organizing parties and jetting off around the world. New York, here I come!)

So for rather obvious reasons, I haven’t managed to read as much as I would have liked this past week or so. And my to-read pile is stacking up! So far on my shelf I have:

  • Lovers and Beloveds by MeiLin Miranda — I’ve already started this and and very much enjoying it so far! It’s a new release, so if you like epic (erotic) fantasy be sure to check it out on Smashwords.
  • Two urban fantasy / romance novels by H. P. MalloryFire Burn and Cauldron Bubble and To Kill A Warlock. Just received review copies, so looking forward to dig into those soon.
  • The Choir Boats by Daniel A Rabuzzi, which I downloaded back in July when it was Wowio’s book of the month and hence available for free.
  • Black Mask and Pale Rider, a webfiction about elven gunslingers. It’s been on my to-read for a while now, but I am wonder whether to save it for my special 2011 reading challenge which I planned out last weekend.

I already finished Elizabeth Kolodziej’s Vampyre Kisses review a while back, so expect an interview and a review coming up this week.

Other than that, you may have noticed I’m running a little contemporary romance giveaway, so if you haven’t entered be sure to check it out for a chance to win a free book!

That’s all from me at the moment. What are on your reading shelves at the moment?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Book Chat and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reader’s Log #3

  1. Aw hope you do more of these more personal updates its always nice to hear more about the person behind the reviews. Congrats on the new job it sounds fantastic. I’ve got far too much on my tbr shelf…but I haven’t finished Above Ground!! Finally! So that will be my review this week. Also received another book in pdf format lol have warned them it may take me a while to read :-)

    • a.m.harte says:

      Yay! :-)
      Yeah I should do more personal updates. I always read through yours (even though I sometimes forget to comment, heh) and you’re right, it’s fun to hear about what other people are up to!

Leave a Reply

