Meme: Your Reading History

Since I love memes so much, here’s another. If you copy it please leave the link in the comments so I can check out your answers!

1. What author do you own the most books by?
Frank Herbert. I was about to say J.K. Rowling but I realised all the copies in my house belong to my sister.

2. What book do you own the most copies of?
I honestly don’t think I own dupes of anything, shockingly enough. Or maybe I own two copies of Northern Lights by Philip Pullman? Except I think the copy in Italy is the American version (Golden Compass).

3. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
Far too many to count, and my love for them is hardly secret. Tends to always be the bad boy, e.g. Sirius or Draco from Harry Potter, Damon from The Vampire Diaries, Strider (pre-Aragorn) from LotR, Eric from Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood…. Yes, a lot of vampires. Oops?

4. What book have you read the most times in your life?
Probably Lord of the Rings, closely followed by Philip Pullman’s Northern Lights.

5. What was your favourite book when you were ten years old?
I honestly can’t remember. I did read a lot of Tamora Pierce — really liked the Alanna series and loved the Immortal series. A lot of Susan Cooper books, eg The Dark Is Rising series. Oh and how could I forget Madeleine L’Engle? I adored A Swiftly Tilting Planet as well as Wind in the Door. Oh, and a lot of animal/horse fiction too like The Black Stallion, Red Fox, King of the Wind, Black Beauty….

6. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
Third Twin by Ken Follett was pretty eye-stabby.

7. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake — my review here. And The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was also awesome.

8. If you could force everyone reading this to read one book, what would it be?
I’d rather tailor my suggestions per person! I imagine most will have read what I consider the essentials (I’ve a must reads shelf on Goodreads)… So maybe I’d push recent read TimeSplash for science fiction fans and Hush Money for YA/supernatural lovers.

9. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for Literature?
I have no idea. A webfiction author? Or one of the two authors from #7!

10. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
Some of Tamora Pierce’s stories would be awesome! Or the Shannara series would be cool. Or another version of Dune.

11. What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
I’m not a big film watcher, and most of the time when they make films out of my favourite books I think it’s great. As much as the film may suck or not remain true to the story, all I can think of is how awesome it must feel for the author, so…. And if I loved the book I’ll see the film, even if only out of curiosity.

On the other hand, books I hated? I don’t care if they make films out of them. Probably won’t watch them anyway. So whether I love a book or hate a book, it doesn’t make much of a difference if they turn it into a film.

12. Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
I had a dream I met Neil Gaiman which was weird, but I don’t remember the details.

13. What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
Far, far, faar too many Harlequin and Mills & Boon romances to mention. We all need a trash fix now and then!

14. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
The Trial by Kafka was pretty hard to wade through. But maybe Grapes of Wrath trumps all — didn’t even finish that one.

15. What is the most obscure Shakespeare play you’ve seen?
I’ve only ever seen Romeo & Juliet live. I did watch the film version of Macbeth which was quite good.

16. Do you prefer Roth or Updike?
No clue.

17. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
Ditto.

18. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
I’ve only read Shakespeare… Although Milton is on my to-read list.

19. Austen or Eliot?
Only read Austen, so…!

20. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I haven’t read as many classics as I would like to. Also I should get some Asimov under my belt at some point I think.

21. What is your favorite novel?
Northern Lights by Philip Pullman.

22. Play?
I don’t read enough to consider myself a connoisseur. Ghosts by Ibsen was really good. I also liked Oedipus Rex.

23. Poem?
No idea. I don’t read much. The last I read was Louis MacNeice’s Autumn Journal, in which “September” stood out in particular.

24. Essay?
Don’t read them.

25. Short story?
Whilst I love reading short stories — and twitter’s #fridayflash community in particular — I wouldn’t pick a favourite.

26. Work of nonfiction?
I did like The Language Instinct by Steven Pinker. A Brief History of Time was interesting. And right now I’m reading Musicophilia — a lot of brain/psychology/mind stuff fascinates me. Oh! I loved Derren Brown’s Tricks of the Mind actually: witty, insightful, and thoroughly entertaining.

27. Who is your favorite writer?
Neil Gaiman probably. Also Sylvia Plath and Frank Herbert. And I’m partial to Terry Brooks. And and and….

28. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
I would have said Stephenie Meyer, because while I enjoyed reading Twilight, I didn’t think the writing was all that, but then I read The Host and really loved it, so…. I’m not sure. It depends on personal preferences too I suppose.

29. What is your desert island book?
Meaning my favourite desert island book, or the book I’d take to a desert island? If the former, I can’t think of many I’ve read. Lord of the Flies? It’s the only one I can think of. If the latter…. Probably Northern Lights. I love that book.

30. And… what are you reading right now?
Lovers and Beloveds by MeiLin Miranda! And on the non-fiction front the pretty fascinating Musicophilia by Oliver Sacks, all about music and the brain.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Book Chat and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Meme: Your Reading History

  1. Jan Oda says:

    I need a blog just to do your silly meme’s.

  2. Merrilee says:

    That was a very interesting and informative list. I will tuck it away for a slow blogging week :)

  3. L. says:

    [Edited by Anna to add in the questions, because she was getting confused!]

    1. Buy the most books: Stephen Donaldson, then Julian May, then Clive Barker. I’ve probably read most Wilbur Smith, but I don’t keep them.
    2. Own the most copies: Bible (versions)
    3. Fictional character in love with: ?
    4. Book you’ve read the most: The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant
    5. Fave book at age 10: The Outsiders, SE Hinton. Then I was in love with Johnny Cade.
    6. This year’s worst book: Pillars of the Earth, Ken Follett
    7. This year’s best book: Olive Kitteridge
    8. Force everyone to read: Thats hard. Clive Barker’s Sacrament
    9. Win the Nobel prize: ?
    10. Book into movie: Wilbur Smith’s The Sunbird. They usually ruin books with movies, and that one is not too complex.
    11. Book NOT into movie: Anything by Dan Brown
    12. Weirdest dream: ?
    13. Lowbrow reading: The Roman’s Virgin Mistress. Worst book ever written.
    14. Most difficult book: The Canterbury Tales
    15. Obscure Shakespeare play: Don’t know about obscure. I love Macbeth and Titus Andronicus best.
    16. Roth/Updike: ?
    17. Sedaris/Eggers: Sedaris
    18. Shakespeare/Milton/Chaucer: Shakespeare
    19. Austen/Eliot: Austen
    20. Most embarrassing gap: I have never read Anna Karenina I am reading it now via Gutenberg.
    21. Fave novel: Thomas Covenant series
    22. Fave play: Godot
    23. Fave poem: Man from Snowy River
    24. Fave essay: ?
    25. Fave short story: Tanith Lee’s collection Book of the Damned
    26. Fave nonfiction: The Buddhist Writings of Lafcadio Hearn
    27. Fave writer: Donaldson
    28. Most overrated writer: Meyer. Not because she is so bad, because she is so highly acclaimed.
    29. Desert island book: Wuthering Heights to offset the sun
    30. Reading now: Moby Dick, Anna Karenina, Operation Sunshine and Monsoon.

  4. Great little meme will have to store this one away for further use, although not right away still only half way through 55 book questions.

    Totally agree with you on question 28! I also preferred The Host.

    • A.M.Harte says:

      Yeah I saw you were filling out the HUGE meme… Was tempted to copy it, but then I found this shorter one instead. :-P

      I was so impressed by The Host; it was like it was written by a different author!

Leave a Reply

