Interview with HP Mallory & Giveaway!

I’ve mentioned H.P. Mallory a couple times already — but for those not in the know, she’s an indie urban fantasy & paranormal romance author who has authored two novels, Fire Burn and Cauldron Bubble (review) and To Kill A Warlock (review).

Today she joins QAZ for a quick interview, and two of you lucky readers have a chance to win a copy of her books!

****

A little about yourself, first: give us three crucial facts about yourself.

HPM: I have a horrible sweet tooth and pie is my favorite thing on the planet.
I love anything to do with the paranormal.
The best thing in the world is being a mom to my 17 month old son.

Why did you choose the independent publishing route, and how have you found the experience so far?

HPM: Well, I started off with a big NY agent and when that went nowhere, I decided to take my career into my own hands. I first self published on amazon in July of 2010 and hoped to sell a few hundred copies of both my books and I’ve been astounded by the response to them. It was the best decision I could have made and I haven’t looked back since. I love the fact that the reader can decide how good my books are rather than some agent or publisher…

You write two series, one following crime-buster Dulcie O’Neil and the other following powerful witch Jolie Wilkins. How do the two characters compare?

HPM: Dulcie and Jolie are really quite different but where they are similar is that they aren’t perfect. It was really important to me to create heroines who aren’t cookie cutter ideal–that is, each has her own faults. For Jolie, she has to overcome self confidence issues and for Dulcie, she has to get over ex boyfriend issues. The only other similarities between the two are their comedic outlooks on life. It was really important to me to instill in each book a sense of comedy to help balance the paranormal and sometimes dark aspects of each.

Fill in the blank: readers who hate ________ will love my books — and explain your choice.

HPM: Science…LOL because my books are not based in science at all. I don’t really explain how Jolie or Dulcie’s magic works…it just does. LOL

Out of all the sexy men in your books, who is your favourite and why?

HPM: Oh, man. This one is a hard one and it’s getting harder as I write the follow up to Fire Burn, which incorporates the vampire Sinjin extensively. While I’m a definite lover of Rand, the warlock from Fire Burn, Sinjin and Knight from Warlock are close seconds.

If you were not an author, what would you be?

HPM: Well, in my full time job, I’m on online marketer so I guess…an online marketer! LOL

Finally, and most importantly, boxers or briefs?

HPM: Boxers definitely! LOL

****

Giveaway!

I have two ebooks up for grabs — one copy of Fire Burn and one of To Kill A Warlock.

To enter the giveaway, leave a comment by Monday October 25th detailing which book you would like to win and why! HP will pick the winners.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Giveaway and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Interview with HP Mallory & Giveaway!

  1. Jan Oda says:

    Yay! Giveaway!
    I can totally relate to the pie sentiment of HP. Though maybe I’d give my first spot to coffee…
    I pick To kill a Warlock because I adore that cover, but also because that story seems more up to my alley.

    Question for HP, why did she pick this kind of covers for her books?

  2. Bailey says:

    I would love to read “To Kill a Warlock” because Dulcie looks like a wonderfully fun character to read about right now, since I’m dealing with some ex issues of my own. I need a little magic in my life!
    baileythebookworm[at]gmail.com

  3. Don’t enter me, as I already own both books. I’m having a hard time between Sinjin and Rand too! I’ve read a little of book two (of Fire Burn) and if you loved the first book, you’ll love the second even more.

  4. HP Mallory says:

    Hi Guys! Thanks for the comments and Lori, thanks for the shout out!
    Jan, to answer your question, I wanted to find covers that were different to what is out there and were spunky and fun like I think my books are. So I went the character route! LOL

  5. PinkStuff28 says:

    Fire Burn would be a great win for me …I’ve heard only amazing things about it ..So i’m curious about it :)

  6. Ami says:

    I would love to dive right in to the world of “To Kill a Warlock”. I’m a HUGE fan of Paranormal PI novels. Dulcie sounds like one tough firecracker! Different authors always seem to have such unique takes on what a fairy is like, I’m really interested to see what vision Mallory has for her character and her world. :) Thank you for considering me.

Leave a Reply

