I survived the 100+ Book Challenge!

Way back in December 2009, when I decided to take part in the 100+ Book Challenge, I was rather dubious as to whether I’d even make it past 20. So it is with bewildered pleasure that I announce to you today that I completed the 100+ Book Challenge on November 15, with 46 days of reading still left to go!

You can see the full list of books I’ve read this year here.

Some facts and figures about the challenge:

1. I almost gave up
Six months into the challenge I decided to give up. Then I kept reading for enjoyment rather than for the challenge, until I was a month ahead of reading schedule in August and realized I could make it!

2. Next to no webfiction
I didn’t read as much webfiction as I would have liked, but I did discover a lot of indie ebooks. I think that with the challenge in mind, I liked knowing I had completed a story, rather than reading serials which never end. I do aim to read more webfiction in 2011.

EDIT: But a lot of ebooks! 54 out of 100 were ebooks.

3. MCM dominates the list
Unintentionally, Book 1 and Book 100 were by the same author: MCM. The first book was one of his children’s stories, and the last was his amazing novel Typhoon. He’s also the author I read the most of this year. You can read all his work online for free on his website.

4. A very rough genre breakdown:
37% speculative
26% romance
7% classics
6% thriller/mystery
4% non-fiction
3% horror
17% everything else

I’m a little embarrassed by how much romance I read. I blame Jan.

5. Review craze!
So far I’ve reviewed 39 out of the 100 books, but I do intend to review another three still. That’ll mean a total of 42 books reviewed for the challenge, which is of course the meaning of life.

6. And next?
I don’t think I’ll take part again next year as reading 100 books takes up a lot of time. However, I am planning a fun little reading challenge of my own for 2011 which I will tell you about in December in the hopes that you’ll join in. In the meanwhile, I still have a bunch of ARCs on my to-read pile so I expect to be ending the year way over 100 books.

So there you have it! How many book have you read this year? What’s the most you’ve ever read?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Book Chat. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I survived the 100+ Book Challenge!

  1. Eli James says:

    Congratulations, Anna! :) This is amazing (and very inspiring!)

    • MCM says:

      Right, I also meant to say it was amazing, but my cruelty overpowered my kindness. Oh, and thanks for reading so much of my stuff! I’ll write another 12 books next year so you can stay busy :P

    • A.M. Harte says:

      Thanks! Don’t see how my having my nose in a book all year is inspiring, but… :-P

      Oh another percentage I forgot to do: how many ebooks vs print books. I think I read more of the former!

  2. MCM says:

    I think next year, you should read four books in languages you don’t currently understand. That could be fun. And/or impossible.

  3. J.C says:

    Well done, Anna! I’m seriously impressed. I don’t even want to think about how few books I have read this year. I’m guessing more than 10, less than 15…. very sad. I’m slowly getting more time though, so will be improving on that next year!

    • A.M. Harte says:

      I felt pretty proud until another book blogger mentioned she’s coasting past 200 now. But yeah, in 2009 I read so few books that I was determined to make more time for reading. Now I think I’ve trained myself to read more frequently and my writing has improved as a result.

  4. Merrilee says:

    Amazing :D I just might have to try this challenge next year, I think!

Leave a Reply

