Interview & Giveaway! Lori Brighton On Writing Romance

I read Lori’s fun paranormal romance “The Ghost Hunter” a while back (you can read my review here) and am delighted to have her on the blog today. She’s had two romances published by Kensington, and is now trying her hand with the independent route — read on to find out more about her and how you can get your hands on her latest!

What kind of a writer are you?

LB: I think I’m a pretty laid-back writer, if there is such a thing. I can pretty much write anywhere, anytime. I’m female and a mom, so obviously I can multi-task. I usually have the T.V. on, many times my son is kicking a soccer ball around me while I’m trying to write. Although, I admit it is easier to write when I’m alone and it’s quiet. I’m pretty much always writing, always have my laptop on. Usually I’ll work on a couple books at once. It might seem confusing, but taking a break from one book and going to another helps me clear my head. In the simplest form, I’m a writer who writes pretty much any genre of Woman’s Fiction including Young Adult.

Tell me about the first story you ever wrote.

LB: I believe I was in first grade (or around that age) and I wrote a story about a Superhero Koala Bear. I even cut out pictures and pasted them to the pages. I won an award and got to attend some special event. Alas, it was never published.

Now, the first adult book I wrote was a romantic suspense. It finaled in 3 contests, but never sold. I’d definitely like to revisit that book, although I’d have to make some major plot changes.

What is it about the romance genre that appeals to you?

LB: Life is harsh enough, why read books that make it more depressing? Really, love and hope are the two things that keep us going. Romance novels offer them in abundance. Romance novels aren’t just about sex, they’re about romance and falling in love and giving up everything for that person you care about. And, of course, they offer readers that hope of a happily ever after. Really, without love and hope, what’s the point?

Tell us about The Ghost Hunter protagonist Ashley. How much do you relate to her?

LB: Hmm, not a whole lot. She can be sarcastic and I definitely can. Her father wasn’t around and neither was mine. Ashley has this fear of living in the suburbs, and I can definitely relate to that. But she does not have a supportive family, and mine is the exact opposite. I have a large extended family and they’re all very supportive.

Ashley isn’t your typical kick-ass paranormal heroine who comes in and immediately cleans house. She spent half of her life being told she was insane, so throughout the book she’s learning to accept herself and grow as a confident person.

In The Ghost Hunter, who is sexier, Cristian or Devon?

LB: While writing the book, Cristian was always sexier to me. That alpha male with a heart of gold. I was a bit surprised at how many people loved Devon. But usually when I’m writing a book, whoever is the main hero is the sexiest to me at the time.

What else are you working on at the moment?

LB: I have a Young Adult that will be out soon called The Mind Readers. In fact, I’ll post the blurb here and you can all be the very first to hear what it’s about! :-)

Cameron Winters is a freak. Fortunately no one but her family knows the truth…that Cameron can read minds. For years Cameron has hidden behind a façade of normalcy, warned that there are those who would do her harm. When gorgeous and mysterious Lewis Douglas arrives he undermines everything Cameron has ever believed and tempts her with possibilities of freedom. Determined to embrace her hidden talents, Cameron heads to a secret haven with Lewis; a place where she can meet others like her…Mind Readers.

But as Cameron soon finds out some things are too good to be true. When the Mind Readers realize the extent of Cameron’s abilities, they want to use her powers for their own needs. Cameron suddenly finds herself involved in a war in which her idea of what is right and wrong is greatly tested. In the end she’ll be forced to make a choice that will not only threaten her relationship with Lewis, but her very life.

Why did you choose the indie publishing route?

LB: Honestly, in a way I feel like it chose me. Publishing with a New York publisher wasn’t working well and the Indie route just sort of opened up before me; it became the road less traveled.

Here’s the thing, it took me about seven years to sell to a NY publisher. It was a two book deal, but the advance wasn’t great. Laughable, really. But I took it because it was N.Y. and you weren’t considered a real writer unless you sold to N.Y. The entire advance (money I received so far) went toward advertising; three ads in romance type magazines because everyone said that I had to advertize (most publishers do very little in way of promoting their authors). Then, to make it worse, I found out my second book wouldn’t be out until 16 months after the first. It’s an insanely long time and not at all good for an author trying to make a name for herself.

Then a friend of mine, Edie Ramer, told me about self publishing Ebooks. It doesn’t cost the author anything. I had The Ghost Hunter sitting on my computer and so I figured why not try out this new self publishing route? Don’t get me wrong, there are some NY publishers that pay very well and of course I would certainly think about an offer from a NY publisher that paid well. And self publishing doesn’t work for everyone since you’re pretty much totally controlling your own career (book cover, editing, promoting, book sales). There are a lot of self published people who don’t make much. But so far it’s working for me. I can write the book the way I want to and I can put them out when I want. No waiting months to hear from editors and no waiting months (or years) for the book to actually hit shelves.

What question should I have asked, but didn’t?

LB: Hmm, not sure. Maybe will there be a spinoff to The Ghost Hunter?

And the answer is… Yes! I’ll make a second story with Devon as the hero.

Last of all: why should readers enter The Ghost Hunter giveaway?

LB: Plain and simple…because it’s free! lol. Seriously, why not? What do you have to lose? Giveaways are a great way to try a new author for free. How’s that for an easy answer? :-)

* * * * *

Giveaway!

The Ghost Hunter is a spooky, light-hearted paranormal love story. Want some thrill with your romance? Curious to learn more about Ashley, Cristian and Devon? There are two ebook copies up for grabs, courtesy of the lovely Lori!

The giveaway is open internationally (yay, ebooks!) and ends December 31 2010. To enter, leave a comment for Lori below and make sure to include your email address.

That’s it, easy peasy! Now go enter!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Giveaway and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Interview & Giveaway! Lori Brighton On Writing Romance

  1. I would love to win a copy of Ghost Hunter! I love any type of romance novel, and of course, any book I read, I always review on my blog. Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Cheryl Landmark says:

    “The Ghost Hunter” sounds very intriguing, Lori. I’d love to win a copy of it! Your writing regime sounds very much like my own. I often work on more than one book at a time, too. And, I usually have no strict schedule that I follow; I write when the bug hits me. Thanks so much for offering your book as a giveaway!

  3. Lisa Miller says:

    I would love to win a copy of Lori Brighton’s book, Ghost Hunter. I love paranormal love stories.

  4. J.C says:

    Great interview! Was interesting reading about indie publishing from the perspective of someone who has done the traditional route. Thanks for that!

  5. Nanci says:

    Exciting! Great interview. Thanks for the words about indie pub – way to go!

  6. Thanks for stopping by everyone! I really appreciate the support :)
    I think the main problem with self publishing is the editing, for me anyway. A reviewer just emailed telling me about all the the typos she found in my book but she was awesome enough to write them down so I can fix them. And that’s the good thing about self publishing, you can go back and fix your mistakes! I had people email me about little mistakes in my N.Y. book but of course it was in print at the time and I could do nothing about it. Self publishing is definitely an interesting route.

    • A.M. Harte says:

      Yes! I had the same problem, somehow typos always slip through even if you have scores of volunteers proof-read.

      • Cheryl Landmark says:

        I went the self-publishing route with my first book, “Shadows in the Brook”, just because I had worked on it for so many years and really wanted to see it in print. It was wonderful seeing it published, but so much time has to be spent in promoting and marketing it now and that’s what I’m finding is the most difficult part for me. I’m not a naturally outgoing or gregarious person, so trying to find outlets willing to sell the book is definitely a challenge. There are only so many friends, family and co-workers you can talk into buying it!

  7. Hi Cheryl,

    I totally know what you mean. I have had to contact a lot of bloggers with this book, and some bloggers won’t review the book because it’s self published.

    The thing is, with smaller NY publishers (like the one who published my book Wild Heart) I had to promote myself anyway, almost as much as I have with this self published book. And on top of that, I spent all of my advance on ads and stuff. I haven’t spent a cent of the money I’ve made on my self published book. Now if you got a large NY publisher and a huge advance, you probably wouldn’t have to do nearly as much promo.

    But you’re right, you have to promote your self published book or you won’t see many sales.

  8. Joyce says:

    This book sounds great. Great interview

  9. Beckie says:

    Thank you for this amazing giveaway. I would love to enter please. My name is Beckie and my e-mail is:

    Chikittie@gmail.com

  10. cecile says:

    ***Waves to Lori*** Just showing some support my dear!!!

    If you have not read her books yet… I swear you have to!!?!?!?!?!?! NOW!!!

  11. Effie says:

    I would love to enter the contest. The book sounds wonderful!

  12. Chrizette says:

    Oh please enter me as well – would love the opportunity to read Ghost Hunter.

    Chrizette
    baychriz at gmail dot com

  13. Just from reading the interview, Devon sounds more intriguing than Cristian :)

  14. The book sounds really good. I would love to read it.
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  15. Onge says:

    Great interview. I like the effort you put into your 1st grade book. Awesome! Thanks for the giveaway.
    chickenherder@hotmail.com

  16. PinkStuff28 says:

    (don’t enter me …i already have the ebook )

    I didn’t have the chance to read it yet, but i can’t wait too :D

    Seems like you are doing a good job with self publishing :)
    The cover is gorgeous ;)

Leave a Reply

