ABC Indie Fiction Challenge Sign Up

ABC Indie Fiction Challenge 2011 Challenges are always fun. Over the course of 2010 I nearly killed myself whilst completing the 100+ Book Challenge, so I’ve decided to set myself a more manageable challenge.

I keep discovering great indie authors so I’ve decided to dedicate 2011 to helping to spread the work about their work by reading and review a range of indie tales.

If you’d like to join in on the madness, simply read through the guidelines below and drop a line in the comments. It’ll be fun!

EDIT: If you need help finding authors, I’ve started up a suggested reading list, divided into free and not-free works.

How to play:

The goal is to read 24 indie longer-length pieces of fiction in a year, according to the following guidelines:

  1. Each story must be written by a different author, and the first letters of the authors’ surnames must begin with a different letter (ie, one author whose surname begins with A, one with B, one with C….).
    Since you only have to read 24 titles, you can skip any two letters, but you get bonus points if you complete the alphabet.
  2. You do not need to read in alphabetical order.
  3. Re-reads, ebooks, ongoing serials — any long-length fiction counts. For serials, you must read the entire backlog.
    What doesn’t count: individual short stories.
  4. Anyone can join. You don’t need a blog to participate.
  5. No need to list your stories in advance. You may select as you go. Even if you list them now, you can change the list if needed.
  6. Crossovers from other reading challenges count.
  7. Challenge begins January 1st through December, 2011. Webfiction started before the 1st do not count.
  8. Sign up by leaving a comment below with the direct link to your post where your progress will be listed. Include the URL to this post so that other readers can find this fun challenge.
  9. You don’t need to review your books, although it’s strongly encouraged.

Participants:

  1. A. M. Harte
  2. Jan Oda
  3. J.C. Hart
  4. Lydia Presley
  5. Tonya R. Moore
  6. Netta
  7. Paul Mansfield Keefe
  8. WA_side
  9. LC Evans
  10. Sibel Hodge
  11. Barbara Silkstone
  12. D.M. Trink (Delyse)
  13. museshack
  14. Lacy Camey
  15. Theresa Ragan
  16. Samantha Warren
  17. JR Tomlin
  18. You?

Monthly Rounds Ups

January
February
March
April

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Book Chat, Challenge, Webfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to ABC Indie Fiction Challenge Sign Up

  1. Jan Oda says:

    I’m in! But I’ll be coming back here to add the link where I’ll publish them.

  2. J.C says:

    this sounds like a really fun challenge, so I think I’ll sign up! I’ll have to chuck a new page up on my blog, and start thinking of who I can add to the list – recommendations welcome!

  3. netta says:

    Ooo, ooo! Consider me signed up. I’m really looking forward to this. :)

  4. WA_side says:

    Well, I’m sure to manage the reading part, but you know I’m not so great on the reviewing!

    Count me in, though I’ll have to get back to you about an url. ;op

    • A.M. Harte says:

      Cool! I plan to write monthly round-ups of everyone’s progress so as long as you keep track of what you read (and would recommend to others) that would be cool!

  5. J.C says:

    do novellas count?

  6. Jan Oda says:

    Just to be clear… Short story collections are okay? Cause I want to read Chuck Wendigs Irregular Creatures…….

  7. Sibel Hodge says:

    I’m signing up too! Great challenge!

  8. Delyse says:

    I’m in!
    I’d love to have my books included if possible. I left the info in comment area under the Suggested Reading list.
    Thanks!
    D.M. Trink (Delyse)

  9. museshack says:

    I am in also. Yesterday I made a decision to read 30 books this year. Having found this site today, I now have a really social and fun way of working towards my goal. Thanks.

  10. Dawn Judd says:

    How fun! I always review mine on my blog, so everyone can come check out what we’ve read so far!

  11. Hi! I’d love to join!

    Here’s my link:
    http://lacycameywrites.com/2011-indie-fiction-alphabet-challenge/

    I want to have the little pen to display on my blog! Is that a widget? I’m so new to wordpress and am like reading all these tutorials and watching videos on “how to” :) So my blog is a work in progress. Currently, I’m trying to transfer over to wordpress.org from wordpress.com because I have this awesome theme I purchased! But it only works for .org…but anyway! I do have the link already up and ready for the indie-challenge! Have a great day!
    lacycameywrites.com :)

  12. I would like to sign up, too. I will post this on website/blog asap.

  13. Okay, I’m set. I’ve set up a page for the challenge on my website at http://bit.ly/lPLV97

  14. A.M. Harte, Sorry about that. I came back yesterday and I noticed that most of these comments were from a while ago and I started to think that maybe nobody was doing this any longer. Glad to know I was wrong. I’ll get the link back up. :)

    Sorry about that.

  15. Got the link today! Thanks :). The pen or “button”, lol, I’m referring to is the button at the very top…the image that says “2011 Indie Fiction Alphabet Challenge”. It looks just like a button one would wear on their shirt.

    You know how participants of “NanoWriMonth” have images they can display on their blog to show they are a part of the group? I was just wondering if your button on the top is something everyone can put on their webpage. ( I need more coffee lol).

    Anyway, so glad to be signed up! I’ve already stared a few books and this is a lot of fun! :) Great idea!

  16. Hi Lacy!

    Okay, my link is up again. http://www.theresaragan.com/p/indie-fiction-challenge_01.html

    I am starting with “W” – Norah Wilson’s The Case of the Flashing Fashion Queen

  17. Lacey, right-click on the image and click View Image. You can then use that URL to put the pin on your blog.

  18. J. R. Tomlin says:

    It’s a bit late, but this looks like fun. :)

    I’m in.

Leave a Reply

