Guest post: Gotta Be An Author by Amber Scott

Today I’d like to bring to you a guest post from Amber Scott, whose novel Fierce Dawn is up for Bestseller For A Day. In between naptimes and dishes, Amber escapes into her characters’ addictive lives. She often burns dinner, is a sucker for chocolate and still believes in happily ever after. She makes her home in hot Arizona with her two children, husband, and one day, two cats.

I’ve been asked: If you couldn’t be an author, what would you be? Good question! Let’s weigh the options:

1. I often burn dinner. Seriously. My son, at four, once said, “Even though you burn dinner, mama, I still love you.” The fact that he said it over breakfast told me just how many hours he’d been working this little decision out. So the restaurant biz is out.

2. I can be shy. When I’m talking books or doing a workshop or chatting with fans, I have no problem being outgoing. I get energized. But stick me in front of a board meeting and I’m all nerves. I clam up. That high-powered CEO/court lawyer/public speaker spot is out.

3. Retail therapy always seemed to extend to whatever position I held at the store. To fight the boredom of being a sales clerk, I shopped. And shopped some more. And took full advantage of my employee discount. Oops. Salesperson extraordinaire is out.

4. I secretly love cutting hair, styling hair, dying hair. The works. Being a stylist has always been my fantasy career should writing not work out. I think I’d be good at it except for the one tiny detail: I have shaky hands. Always have. If I get excited, or scared, or happy, or haven’t eaten or had any coffee, my fingers tremble. Who wants a pair of scissors coming at them jiggling?

5. I do clean a mean dish. I can’t cook but I am very good and staying organized, clean, tidy, the works. So I do suppose there could be a future in that industry for me. Oh, except, like most of you, I’d much rather be reading than scrubbing anything. I might be good at cleaning, but I detest the job itself.

Looks to me like being an author is all I have left! It’s a good thing it is what I’ve always wanted to be, it’s what gets me hopping out of bed instead of sleeping in, it makes everything else in life easier, and it feeds my soul.

How about you? What are the things that feed your soul?

Fierce Dawn by Amber Scott

Snarling teeth, glowing eyes. Someone–something–is after Sadie Graves. Elijah Stokes, the man who haunts her dreams, enters her reality claiming she’s transforming into a changeling–not quite immortal but no longer human. Battle lines are drawn and blood spills as the two fight not only for Sadie’s life, but for all of mankind’s as well.

Today, Fierce Dawn is the Indie Book Collective’s Bestseller For a Day, promotion priced at just 99 cents for your buying pleasure. Grab yours and get in on some amazing giveaways, including a Kindle and a signed ebook of Fierce Dawn. Just click HERE.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Guest post and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest post: Gotta Be An Author by Amber Scott

  1. Barb says:

    Just dropping by to say hi! Happy Bestseller for a Day!
    Barb

  2. johnwiswell says:

    If I couldn’t be a writer?

    I might be dead.

    I wanted to be a painter or sketcher in high school, but lacked the talent and had nerve damage in my hands. With the rise of indy comics with more flair than streamlined merit, maybe I could have gone there. I’ve always enjoyed videogames and have always run with the nerds, so maybe I could have gone there. But this is what I want to do. I’m relieved to be able to pursue it.

    • A.M. Harte says:

      I’ve always had artistic urges (a sudden impulse to draw/paint/sketch/fold paper) but I’m sadly lacking in manual skill. But at the end of the day, it’s writing that really satisfies me, so I too am relieved to be able to pursue it. :-)

Leave a Reply

