Whoops!

June has been a mess, what with preparing for the biggest work project of the year (which takes place in New York) plus a week of holidays, plus lack of internet for 2 weeks, plus some general laziness….

Yep, I was away for two weeks in New York (more details on my other blog) and have pretty much fallen behind on reading, reviewing, updating this site, etc — sorry!

I’ll do my best to catch up asap.

In the meanwhile, what have you been reading? Any recommendations for my neglected bookworm side?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Ze Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whoops!

  1. Cathi Payne says:

    I’m reading The Road (Cormac McCarthy), and Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman (Haruki Murakami) in dead tree, and on the web I’m following the stories currently being serialised on 1889.ca plus the Legion of Nothing’s awesome Haley arc.

    I have so many sites bookmarked to read more, but not enough time to do it at the moment. :o(

  2. I did five semi-anonymous reviews at bibliotastic. It is so hard. I don’t know how reviewers do it. I really enjoyed Michael Hicks’ “In Her Name: Empire”. I liked it enough to follow the series, actually. Very nicely written. Nothing very new in it, really. It is a shame that it was written many years ago and it’s heroine is a tall blue cat alien. Scratch another one out for Avatar.

    Paper reading William Blake’s, “The World is Mine” and Readers Digest, “Great English Short Stories”.

    Lxx

    • A.M. Harte says:

      Sheesh, you’ve been busy reading — makes me feel like a slacker!

      What do you find difficult about reviewing?

      • All of it. Finishing reading something I don’t enjoy. I am not patient. Deciding when a story is bad and when it is just ‘not to my taste’. Trying to find a way to rate a story when the writing is great and the story is crap. How do you average out a rating in that situation? Passing judgment on someone’s work. It is one thing to know I didn’t enjoy a book, it is another to make a public judgment on it that might cut potenital readers by half, because a lot of people won’t start a story that is rated 3/5 or below. How do yu assess humour? I love Python, a good friend hates them passionately. I don’t like humour based on racial stereotypes, a lot of people still do. Also, making a public statement. If a reviewer writes on their own site and readers who know they like the same sort of book come to that site to check a review, fine. But in a public forum, everyone sees that review whithout knowing who wrote it, or how, or why. See, fraught! eEntirely

Leave a Reply

