5 Minute Monday: Jennifer-Crystal Johnson

Jennifer-Crystal Johnson is originally from Germany, but was raised all over. She has published a novella, The Outside Girl: Perception is Reality, and, a poetry collection, Napkin Poetry. Her writing has been featured on Jack Meets Jill and in various anthologies including The Lightness of Being, Theatre of the Mind, Invoking the Muse, and Our 100 Most Famous Poets. She lives in the Pacific Northwest and currently works as a freelance writer and editor for Phati’tude Literary Magazine.

Describe yourself in one tweet (140 characters).

JCJ: Twisted yet romantic coffee enthusiast with an appreciation for blood, gore, and Root Beer floats.

Tell us about your book. What’s it about, and where did the idea come from?

JCJ: My most recent book is not yet published and is a collection of poetry, prose, and short musings including conversations with myself collected over the course of many years.

Strangers with Familiar Faces illustrates the idea that everyone changes over the course of their lives and the stranger with the familiar face is the one in the mirror. We all wear different personalities at different times in our lives, and the learning process begins by evaluating oneself.

Taking a close look at what domestic violence can do to one’s perception of oneself, this collection brings to light some of the bitterness and healing that takes place in in the mind, even if we don’t like to admit that it’s us being childish and insecure.

Fill in the blank: readers who hate ________ will love my book — and explain your choice.

JCJ: POLITICS.

This book has absolutely zero political references, only emotional. I’m also a fiction writer, so the human condition and connection to one another on a deeper level is extremely important in engaging any reader – how else will they enjoy your work?

I don’t do politics, therefore any political enthusiasts will likely not be as interested in my work (exhibit A: my parents *lol*).

Why did you choose the indie publishing route, and how have you found it thus far?

JCJ: I chose the indie route because my first novel was published through PublishAmerica and completely flopped. Working with them was impersonal, uninformative, and frankly, a big disappointment. That novella – which is going out of print next year – was listed at $16.95, a ridiculous price for a 111-page paperback. Ridiculous!

I chose to take matters into my own hands after that, and once I learned more about print on demand and the publishing industry in general, I founded Broken Publications and swore to help other unknowns get their work out there, especially poets.

What future projects can we expect from you?

JCJ: MANY…. I’m currently collecting submissions at brokenpublications.com for an anthology of domestic violence survivors’ works of poetry, prose, and short stories.

My first book is going to be turned into a trilogy, which I’m also working on.

I’d like to collect short stories and publish them in an anthology as well, probably a collection of short works inspired by dreams I have (I have a lot of absolutely insane dreams). These will probably all be based on whatever monsters or aliens or shape-shifters happen to pop up in my subconscious.

I also have a novel that I’d like to completely revise based on my marriage to an abuser. This one is the one that scares me to work on due to its graphic nature and uncomfortable content…. but that will be the best way to be done with it. I want any person who has ever been abused to read it and feel stronger.

Jennifer-Crystal Johnson can be found at soulvomit.com. To learn more about her publishing company, check out Broken Publications.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

