5 Minute Monday: Judi Coltman

Raised in an affluent suburb of Detroit, Judi Coltman grew up in a female heavy household with an urban sense of “normal”. She has written for local, regional and national publications, and writes a weekly blog called My Life in a Nutshell, the inspiration for her first book. She joins us today to discuss her second release.

A little about you, first: give us three fun facts about yourself.

JC: 1. I live in a small town with a 1 block business district. In that block there are 7 bars, 1 hardware store, 1 dime store, 1 CPA, 1 chiropractor and 1 law firm. Priorities, you know.

2. I attended three colleges, graduating on the 10 year plan.

3. Once attended a Saturday Night Live cast party (1981) and drank with Robert DeNiro.

Give us a two-line elevator pitch for your book, In The Name Of The Father.

JC: Time won’t quell a killer’s instinct and there is no place to find solace, not even in His house.

Is there anything you want readers to take away from your writing? What is it?

JC: Well, I am a genre jumper. My first book was a humor piece based on my column and blog. It was easy for me to do and sells very well. This second book, In The Name Of The Father is what I really get off on doing. So, I would hope readers would take away the sense that I can entertain whether it’s comedy or suspense.

Which other indie authors do you recommend or admire?

JC: I enjoy LC Evans, Larry Enright , David Conifer, Shelley Stout, oh dear, is this a test? I didn’t study. I think the well is endless with indie authors. The talent is vast and plentiful.

Lastly, what question should I have asked you, and why?

JC: “Of both of your books, which one do you think is better?”

Why, I’m so glad you asked. I know my fiction work, In The Name Of The Father is, by far, a better book and I hope people will read it and say, “Wow, she really can write!”

Grab your copy of In The Name Of The Father for Kindle (US) or Nook for $4.99. Or head over to judicoltman.com to learn more.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

