5 Minute Monday: Matthew Thompson

Matthew Thompson was born in England in 1983 and is the creator of Domino Galaxy. He has previously worked in the video games indusrty as a game and level designer. He joins us today to tell us about his debut novel, Twin Spirit.

A little about you, first. Do you have any hidden talents?

MT: I enjoy digital painting. I was first introduced to Photoshop while at college where I studied Graphic Design. Since then I’ve been able to create concept art for many of my ideas.

Tell us about your book, Twin Spirit – what themes does it tackle?

MT: My first novel is about freedom, and what you’re will to do to get it. One of the characters has been trapped for nine years. She is a spirit, and in order to enter the afterlife she needs her sister to die, or a least that’s what she thinks.

It’s also about family and friendship. And how easy it can be to lose someone.

Is there anything you want readers to take away from your writing? What is it?

MT: I’ve tried to push my imagination. I love original stories because they will always leave a stronger impression on me. I hope my readers will enjoy the fun and wonder of the world I’ve created.

Which other indie authors do you recommend or admire?

MT: I’ve yet to discover another indie. I’ve been too busy writing my own book and reading traditionally published authors. I will choose a book soon though.

Lastly, what question should I have asked you, and why?

MT: Why fantasy?

I write in this genre because I adore to wonder. I enjoy to explore the possibilities out there. I’m new to writing so it’s difficult to know how good or bad my first novel is. Readers will be the judge. I’m just enjoying the freedom to write.

Grab your copy of Twin Spirit from Smashwords or Amazon today!

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

