Apologies and New Beginnings

Last year, overambition was my downfall.

I made plans. Lots of great ones. Like reading a ton of books, and running an indie fiction challenge, getting author interviews for every Monday, and… yeah, stuff.

This on top of my own writing, being editor-in-chief for 1889 Labs, co-producing and hosting Webfiction World, running Indie Book Reviewer, updating qazyfiction, and — sometimes — having a life.

I still owe a bunch of authors a review, and have no idea when/if I’ll get round to it. I still want to get back into webfiction reviewing, but that’s not looking likely at the moment…

I’ve got to prioritise, and quite frankly quillsandzebras is not high up on the list.

So, the plan:

  1. I’m going to work through the backlog of author interviews, and at least get those up and running again every other Monday (and then go down to every Monday, if I can). Hopefully if I build up a buffer, it won’t kill me.

  2. I’m only going to take on books for review on a very select/limited basis. That way I can be sure I’ll get the review done in a reasonable amount of time.

  3. All other posts will come on an ad hoc basis. I have a couple funny ideas, and am thinking of moving this blog more towards something conversational rather than only interviews/reviews. We’ll see!

What about you? What was your downfall last year? Any plans for the new year?

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Ze Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Apologies and New Beginnings

  1. Overambition is my middle name! (Or it might be James, hard to remember these days.) The last few years, my overambition combined with the demands of my day job has forced me to be a wee bit more flexible with my goals. :) Good luck getting everything done!

  2. Patricia says:

    My 2011 was a hodge podge of uncompleted goals and ambitions. I decided to simplify everything this year. I have one resolution… write the first draft to my story. In order to prevent distractions, I have self-banned myself from social media/networks. It’s going to be an interesting year, that’s for sure.

    • A.M. Harte says:

      That’s a big enough goal to not feel guilty neglecting anything else ;-)

      Best of luck with your novel. What’s it about?

      • Patricia says:

        It started out as a urban fantasy and is shifting more to a dystopian/science fiction about an aristo girl finding out she’s not who she thought she was and that there is more life on the outside. We’ll see how long that sticks. My story evolves without my say. It is a very disobedient and willful child, sigh.

        • A.M. Harte says:

          The first draft is always the trickiest. Just keep on pushing – you can always rewrite the crappy bits! The worst part of writing the first draft is the middle slump, where you think everything is all awful and you wonder why you started writing in the first place. But it does get better!

          It’s fun to straddle genre lines — my novel, Above Ground, is some kind of science fantasy mishmash. :-)

  3. J.C says:

    Sounds like good goals for this blog :-) I bombed on my indie reading challenge, but I did make it to 100 books which was HUGE for me. I think towards the end of the year I found it hard finding books I wanted to read from the indie authors, so resorted to reading anything I could get my hands on for a reasonable price by anyone…

    This year is going to be really different for me, reading wise. I am slush reading for a publisher, so getting through 1-2 novels a week with them, which leaves me with limited time for reading published novels! lol I set myself a goal of 50 books, but whether I make that or not remains to be seen…

    • A.M. Harte says:

      I’m aiming to read around 50 in 2012 as well. In 2011 I made it to 67 or so without even trying too hard, so I’m hoping that 50 won’t be too demanding. I set myself the goal to read 100 back in 2010 and that almost killed me… although I did manage to get up to 120+!

      I’m still waiting on reading a book written by you, lady. Don’t think I haven’t forgotten :-P

      • J.C says:

        LOL you have such a good memory. It’s going to be awhile before I have anything new written, though you’re welcome to read the novella I’ve trunked! Maybe a fresh opinion will tell me whether the character motivation issue is fixable lol

  4. Aw I think we have all been a victim of our own ambition sometimes, we start out with such good intentions but life and everything just gets in the way. Good luck with getting this blog back up and running soon :-)

Leave a Reply

