5 Minute Monday: Ronald J Craft

Ronald J CraftRonald J Craft grew up surrounded by books, and his surroundings haven’t changed in the slightest. He’s read countless fantasy novels… and always hungers for more.

A little about you, first. Do you have any hidden talents?

RJC: I have been writing for a long time now, ever since high school, and have only just recently finally published my first novel. It was quite a trip, and one that is only going to continue as I work on the next one!

I spent six years of my life in the US Air Force and worked on jet engines. I’ve now settled into a role as a system administrator for a web hosting company full-time, and spend my nights writing.

Tell us about your book, Bound by Fire — what themes does it tackle?

RJC: My novel, Bound by Fire, is a fantasy novel (the first of a trilogy) that focuses on the darker themes in fantasy. Treachery, greed, hopelessness. I really wanted to give my readers a more realistic fantasy story where nobody is a hero and yet they are tasked with this great burden that they must complete. The story focuses on seven characters who, while all different, are each related in one way or another and over the course of the story come together either as friends or foes.

Is there anything you want readers to take away from your writing?

RJC: I’d love if my readers sat back after reading my novel and felt a bit a more wise. Perhaps they would think to themselves, “Humans really have a tendency to make poor decisions despite all the wisdom before them.”

Which other indie authors do you recommend or admire?

RJC: Honestly, I admire any indie author that steps into this world. The direct translation to Indie should be “The Wild West”, as it’s still a very crazy place to be. I plunged head first into the Indie world and don’t regret it one bit, but it definitely takes courage, especially if you have previously been seeking the traditional publishing route.

You see, you chase after the allure of being with a big name publisher. The carrot on the string is right there in front of you, yet for one reason or another it’s either out of reach, or you lose interest in said carrot because it’s just taking far too long to get to it.

So, Indie authors, I salute you.

Lastly, what question should I have asked you, and why?

RJC: This is a tough one – as there’s so many questions! I guess if you were going to ask another question, you could have asked me about why I went Indie.

Well, simply put, I grew tired of waiting for the carrot as I previously mentioned. I write epic fantasy and most agents/editors just aren’t interested in this side of things these days unless you’re writing urban fantasy, or have a strong love story. I had some potentials, and made it to several full manuscript requests… after which I was welcomed by brief email updates, but mostly a whole lot of silence.

So, after a year of this I decided enough was enough and moved forward with the Indie route. My goal is for people to read and enjoy my writing, not get rich and famous (which I wouldn’t expect even with traditional publishing) so this seemed like a viable way to get my work out there.

For more information and to buy his work, check out Ronald’s amazon author page.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

