5 Minute Monday: Dana Michelle Burnett

Dana Michelle Burnett spent most of her life writing short stories and sharing them with family and friends. Over the years, her work was published in numerous commercial and literary magazines including Just Labs, Mindprints: A Literary Journal, Foliate Oak, and many more.

A little about you, first. Do you have any hidden talents?

DMB: I am a writer, a dreamer, and a proud dance mom to an eight year old daughter. I’ve been published in numerous literary magazines.

My secret hidden talents? I can make a hairbun in less than three seconds using only a pencil, and I can write an entire short story on cocktail napkins.

Tell us about Spiritus — what themes does it tackle?

DMB: My novel Spiritus is about a love that refuses to die.

When Becca moves into her ancestral home in Corydon, Indiana, her life takes a puzzling and thrilling turn when she meets the ghost haunting the halls. As the seductive spirit lures her closer and closer, she learns about her own past and starts to understand that some mistakes are meant to last.

Is there anything you want readers to take away from your writing?

DMB: I think we all crave to be a part of an epic love affair that could survive anything and I want to give readers a little taste of that.

The love affair between these characters goes deeper than just love and sex. They relationship encompasses things such a betrayal, revenge, and regret. I wanted readers to sense the many levels of their attraction.

Which other indie authors do you recommend or admire?

DMB: I love the works of Rose Pressey. She is a wonderful writer that goes beyond what you expect in paranormal romance. I bought some of her work on a whim and I was so impressed that I recommend her to everyone.

Lastly, what question should I have asked you, and why?

DMB: You should have asked why I picked Corydon for the setting of my book.

It seems that no matter how hard I worked on my main characters, the town is what impresses people the most. Many readers have noticed that many of the places and events that I mention in the book are real and want to know more.

You can friend Dana on facebook or check out her book on Amazon Kindle or Smashwords.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Author Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

