How NOT to Get Reviewed #3

Part of a series. When you get hundreds of book review requests, you only take minutes to decide which books to accept. What goes through a book bloggers mind? I can’t speak for all bloggers, but here’s what goes through mine….

From: –@gmail.com
To: my email
Subject line: Quills and Zebras – Review Request – [book title]

Hi Anna.

Woohoo, personalised email!

My name is [name] and I’m the author of the book [title].

So far so good…

I came across your site via explain how you found the site and can see that you’re a fan of the fantasy books. ADD IN 2-3 sentences of personalization based on reading the blogger’s bio and taking a quick look around their site. And I’ve followed you on list sites you followed them on, so we can stay in touch that way now too.

Aaaaand rejected!

I’m all for template emails – they save time, and ensure the author includes the key information in each email. But at least take the time to read through your emails before hitting send!

Might I convince you to take a look at my novel [book title]. I’d gladly provide you with an copy of my book via your preferred eBook platform – just let me know.

Now I cannot help but read critically. You’re missing a question mark in the first sentence. Also, who says platform?

Description: [book blurb].

Thanks for considering this request. I look forward to hearing from you.

Trailer of the book: [link]

Why whack the trailer here? You should’ve put it straight under the book blurb.

{Name]
Blog: [link]
Books:
[link]
[link]

VERDICT
You lost me at “explain how you found the site”. Rejected.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in How NOT to Get Reviewed. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How NOT to Get Reviewed #3

  1. Najela says:

    Why would you ever tell someone about the formula for finding them online. It’s kinda like meeting someone in life through a mutual friend and saying “I drove by your house one day and I decided to knock on your door because you have yellow paint”. It would be cool if someone was like “I found your site by reading so and so’s webfiction” or “I was browsing sites and came across yours.” I’ll admit that I would have stopped at the same place you did.

  2. This is a new one on me! My biggest gripe is not using my name but directing the email to my blog title, so I am atleast impressed they took the time to find out your name. But really really needed to check they’d filled in the whole template before clicking send!

Leave a Reply

