How NOT to Get Reviewed #4

Part of a series. When you get hundreds of book review requests, you only take minutes to decide which books to accept. What goes through a book bloggers mind? I can’t speak for all bloggers, but here’s what goes through mine….

From: –@talktalk.net
To: my email
Subject line: Review Request and Possible Interview

Hello Anna

You know who I am, great!

[Book title] is a new novel set during the ’45 Rebellion. It has action, adventure, complex relationships and a modest dash of 18th century bawdiness.

Although on first reading, the start struck me as odd, I appreciate someone who gets right to the point. Within seconds I know whether I’ll like this book or not.

My name’s [Name] and I’m an independent author writing historical fiction as [Pseudonym]. I’m currently writing my third novel, although [book title] is the first to be published (by [publisher]) and is available in paperback, PDF and e-book formats.

Superfluous. Cut this down. Especially get rid of the mention of three books; that this is the first to be published only makes me suspicious (were the others crap?).

I’m attaching a PDF version of the Advanced Information sheet with further details. In addition, I have a website for [Pseudonym], and the URL is… [website] – although it’s still not being picked up fully by Search Engines.

Interesting! AIs are what trade publishers use; nice touch. Still, you’re rambling, but I haven’t dismissed you entirely.

The book is 650 pages long and has a word count of 300,000. You can preview [book title] either through [website] or the “Look Inside” function on the relevant Amazon page. I’m sure you’ll hate this but I have to confess that it’s also written in the first person.

And…. rejected. 300,000 words? I know being indie means you have a lot more freedom, but considering that the average trade paperback ranges in the 60-90k range, I wouldn’t write a 300k novel unless I was Stephen King. Maybe not even then. Over 100k (except for perhaps with science fiction) and you’re facing a long, difficult sell.

Basically, however, I wondered whether you might be interested in reviewing [book title] and, if so, the format in which you would prefer to receive it. I’m also available for interviews. I appreciate that you must have a huge backlog but I look forward to your response.

Very best regards.

[Name]

Writing historical novels as [Pseudonym]
Now available from all good stockists. Click below to sample.
[Book title]

VERDICT
You read my guidelines. You rambled, but not enough to put me off. But even had the entire review request been bang-on perfect, your novel is enormous and will require serious commitment from a reader — which I am not willing to give to an unknown author. Rejected.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in How NOT to Get Reviewed. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How NOT to Get Reviewed #4

  1. Wow that is one loooooong book!

Leave a Reply

