End Of An Era

I’ve known it for some time: I’ve too much on my plate.

What with writing, editing for 1889, and having a day job, my ability to promptly read and review books has gone down the drain.

This imbalance is only set to worsen. Reviewing is merely a past time for me, whereas writing and being EIC of 1889 are jobs — jobs I’m passionate about, too.

So my plan is as follows:

  1. Stop accepting books for review.
    It’s unfair to offer a service I know I can’t deliver, and with such limited time on my hands, I want to read books I want to read, without the added pressure of having to write a review — whether I want to or not.

  2. Move author interviews to 1889.
    The 1889 blog needs content, and I want to downsize quillsandzebras. It makes sense to transfer this feature over. We are working on developing an interview form for 1889, but in the meantime, any submissions received through here will be posted on the 1889 blog.

  3. Feel a lot less guilty!
    By reverting this blog back to a personal one, and away from the regimented ‘must-be-a-professional-book-blogger’, I’ll have a huge weight off my shoulders. And won’t feel forced to post unless I want to (which I probably will end up wanting to do, now that there’s no pressure to do so). Success!

Right now, I’m spread too thin. I want to focus my efforts on amharte.com instead. If and when the mood strikes, I’ll post a review here. But I’m not going to set any deadlines.

That’s the end of this emo I-can’t-do-it post. Thanks for reading, and for following along :-)

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Ze Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to End Of An Era

  1. Good luck with your re-prioritization! It’s important to step back and look at everything we’re juggling from time to time and see what’s getting neglected and what you’d really rather be spending more time on. :)

  2. Heh, you know some people will be following you wherever you are. :)

    Wait, does that sound worrisome?

    Perfectionist! ;P

  3. nlcobb says:

    I had to do the same thing and my blog was not even as big as yours. Sometimes you just need to take the pressure off. Good luck, I can’t wait to see the productive things that come from stepping back for a bit.

    If you ever need an editorial assistant/intern at 1889…

  4. J.C says:

    I totally get this!!! In fact, you spurred me into taking down my guidelines at my review blog because frankly, I just can’t be bothered. I am reviewing when I want to, what I want to, and that works better for me – you’ve helped me make it more formal though :-)

    All the best in the not feeling guilty and the downsizing! I hope it helps you get the time/space/etc that you need :-)

  5. I’m sorry to hear it has all got a bit too much for you, really hope this re-jig of your work and blog will help.

  6. Cecilia Gray says:

    Thank you for all your support of authors!Best of luck. :)

Leave a Reply

