Become a Kindle Publishing Millionaire by Victor Gaucho-Ramirez – Humour

Two words: utterly bizarre.

The boy got me a Kindle for my birthday (woo!) and so, obviously, the first thing I did was browse the free books.

I wasn’t quite sure what I was expecting when I downloaded Become a Kindle Publishing Millionaire. More generic fluff from yet another indie author trying to make money off of fellow authors, perhaps, with some kind of humorous twist (a la How To Write The Perfect Novel).

I got onto the overground, flicked on my Kindle and glanced at the first page, fully intending on reading one of the other books I’d downloaded.

By the time I’d arrived at work, I’d already read half.

Bewildering and amusing, replete with outlandish anecdotes, this short book offers useless advice on marketing, creating aliases, coming up with story ideas, and more.

In Greg X Graves bizarre-humour style, Victor ‘Victorius’ Gaucho-Ramirez makes the most ridiculous claims. Between advice on what days to offer books for free through Kindle Select and how to come up with names that sound similar to existing authors, Gaucho-Ramirez claims to have invented the original Nigerian spam email for the modest fee of a flight back home.

If Gaucho-Ramirez is to be believed, he also coined numerous known expressions such as “innovation is the key to success” and even invented a banana-straightener.

I’m not a massive humourist, but I can see why people might enjoy reading this. It’s a quick, irreverent read, albeit a little pointless. At a price point of zero, however, I could allow myself to be briefly entertained.

Or maybe I’ve got it all wrong and this is actually a tome of great wisdom and truth.

…not.

3/5 stars.

About A.M. Harte

A.M. Harte writes twisted speculative fiction, such as the post-apocalyptic Above Ground and the zombie love anthology Hungry For You. She is excellent at missing deadlines, has long forgotten what ‘free time’ means, and is utterly addicted to chocolate.
This entry was posted in Comedy, Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

